Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Question about Figure Editor  (Read 653 times)

wolfsong73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Question about Figure Editor
« on: September 12, 2016, 02:36:31 am »

In the Figure Editor documentation, it describes the set up as first creating the skeleton, and then adding the geometry to that afterward.

Does it *have* to be done in that order, and does the character have to be in separate pieces for it to work?

Or can you create a single model and then create and assign the bones afterward as well?
Logged

Raxx

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1450
    • View Profile
Re: Question about Figure Editor
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2016, 02:41:21 am »

Nope, feel free to create the model first and then create the bones afterwards. That's the standard way when skinning models like humans and animals. For machines it might require a hybrid of both methods.

So create a bone off the root bone and assign the object to it. This new bone would be the real "root" bone like what you would make in other programs. Make sure the object and "root" bone is positioned how you want it to be, then add the rest of the bones.
Logged

wolfsong73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Question about Figure Editor
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2016, 02:50:39 am »

Ahh okay, perfect.

Thanks!
Logged