Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Anim8or continuing to use CPU after "exiting"  (Read 1255 times)

selden

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
    • Modelling for Celestia
Anim8or continuing to use CPU after "exiting"
« on: September 13, 2016, 08:37:14 pm »

Recently I've noticed a copy of Anim8or continuing to run, saturating a core, after I've closed Anim8or's design window. The design window has closed and Anim8or's icon has disappeared from the taskbar. I've had to use the task manager's "end process tree" command to get rid of the rogue process. Anim8or's model file seems to have been output properly, so I'm not at all sure what it's trying to do.

I've only been using the Object editor, none of the other design windows, and it only happens some of the time.

This happens with Anim8or build 1247 running under a fully patched Windows 7.

How can I find out where it's looping?

Logged
Selden

slex

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • 3D-TV
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or continuing to use CPU after "exiting"
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2016, 09:33:38 pm »

I've also noticed that occasionally few months ago, that seems to be a bug. Just force close it within the task manager in process list.
Logged

selden

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
    • Modelling for Celestia
Re: Anim8or continuing to use CPU after "exiting"
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2016, 11:38:24 pm »

It's not that I can't stop it manually, but that it's a bug that it would be nice that Steve could fix. If I can report the program counter where it's looping, that might help him to fix it.

One of the problems it causes is that if it's not noticed right away (and I usually don't) then when running on a laptop computer, the resulting high cpu load can run down the battery quickly. Sometimes after a long day of modeling, I've even discovered several copies of Anim8or running like that.
Logged
Selden

Claude

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 249
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or continuing to use CPU after "exiting"
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2016, 12:31:23 am »

Windows might be keeping Anim8or running as a background process to allow a quick restart.
Try alt + F4 instead and see if it closes app completly.
Should work on all Win OS.
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or continuing to use CPU after "exiting"
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2016, 12:56:38 am »

selden: Thanks for the report. I'll keep an eye out for it so I can catch it under the debugger if it happens. But it might help to know your system specs, especially what graphics card you're using.
Logged

daniel99

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 312
  • Me : Anim8or RULLZ \m/
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or continuing to use CPU after "exiting"
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2016, 02:31:58 am »

Sometimes I need to restart because of other apps, but I never encountered this problem with an8. Usually, if I close an8, I can restart without problems. seems I was lucky :D
Logged

selden

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
    • Modelling for Celestia
Re: Anim8or continuing to use CPU after "exiting"
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2016, 10:14:40 am »

Daniel, restarting Anim8or is never a problem, whether or not a "background" copy is running. I sometimes have multiple copies running simultaneously.

Steve, here are my system specs:

Computer: Dell Latitude E6510 laptop
          Core i7 Q720 (1.6GHz), 8GB; Win 7 Pro x64 (SP1), Aero GUI
Graphics: Nvidia Quadro NVS 3100M (512MB), PCIe/SSE2, driver v341.44
OpenGL: 3.3.0
Display: 1920x1080 FHD, 60Hz (1080p)
Disk: PNY CS1111 SSD (480GB)
Logged
Selden

daniel99

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 312
  • Me : Anim8or RULLZ \m/
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or continuing to use CPU after "exiting"
« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2016, 06:36:01 pm »

 I was talking about restarting the computer, which sometimes hangs because of the programs running in the WTM/Process tab. I had this problem with Ae, windows folders or even Chrome after closing them up, but fortunately never with Anim8or. :D
Logged