Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: locking meshes from edition?  (Read 928 times)

animaniac

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
locking meshes from edition?
« on: October 22, 2016, 11:55:47 am »

Hi all, I'm a bit rusty on anim8or, is there a way to exclude meshes from node selection? I have 2 meshes in my object, 1 for reference I don't want to modify.
Logged

ENSONIQ5

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 926
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: locking meshes from edition?
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2016, 01:01:26 pm »

Points in grouped meshes aren't movable, grouping the mesh you don't want to modify generally does the trick.  I can't recall if you can group a single mesh with itself, if not just pop a sphere or cube somewhere out of the way and group the mesh with it.
Logged

animaniac

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: locking meshes from edition?
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2016, 01:20:10 pm »

I tried that, it prevents moving but not deleting.
Logged

Raxx

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1446
    • View Profile
Re: locking meshes from edition?
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2016, 03:14:17 pm »

Use the latest development release. Put the reference mesh in a different layer by double clicking the mesh and setting it in the dialog box, them lock the layer by right clicking on its layer button in the top toolbar.
Logged

animaniac

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: locking meshes from edition?
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2016, 06:24:28 pm »

Wow, these dev releases really upped the game! It's not the anim8or I discovered 15 years ago. Thanks, that's exactly what I was looking for.
Logged

ENSONIQ5

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 926
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: locking meshes from edition?
« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2016, 12:46:07 am »

I was going to suggest this but on testing it I found a bug (it's probably already a known one, I haven't been checking the bug reports) in build 1250.  If you lock/unlock layers using the "1 2 3 4 5..." links at the top of the screen everything works as it should, however changing locked status from "Layers..." in "Options" doesn't seem to work correctly in that it doesn't seem to affect point-edit mode (ie. points in meshes in layers locked using the dialog rather than the quick links are still selectable and deletable).
Logged