Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Anim8or v1.0 Beta is available  (Read 5514 times)

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1546
    • View Profile
Anim8or v1.0 Beta is available
« on: March 22, 2017, 08:50:35 pm »

The third beta release of version 1.0 is now available here with many new features including updated user interface, new modeling tools, and inverse kinematics to speed up animation. Read more about it here v1.0 Beta and download your own copy.

Notes for v1.0 beta 3, dated May 6, 2017:

User views: user views and now global to each project.
New Option: to not select connecting points/edges/faces when changing P/F/E selector. See the File->ConfigureUI dialog.
Trackball: Update active trackball when a bone is clicked on in the track editor or the graph editor.
Fix #100-002: Creating a new Object when in a user view crashes.
Fix #100-003: Importing a Sequence that doesn't have a Figure crashes.
Fix #100-004: User Views can't be changes with Arc Rotate, Mouse Scroll, etc.
Fix #100-005: Texture UV tool is broken in point-edit mode.
Fix #100-006: Renaming a bone causes a crash when adding figure to a scene.

Notes for v1.0 beta 2, dated April 15, 2017:

CAD notations: shows more data about splines, including all selected points. coordinates and selected segments' lengths. This is similar to the debugA=1 hack (for those that are familiar with this.)
Hot Key Changes: Ctrl+N for File->New, Ctrl+O for File->Open, Ctrl-S for File->Save, and Ctrl+Shift+S for File->SaveAll. Smooth shading was changed to Ctrl+U.
Alignment widget: fix general issues with the alignment tool (i.e. the little arrow on the edg of the screen when CAD notations is enabled).
Fix #100-001: Bad Values in Movie Image Properties dialog for the frame rate or aspect ratio cause dialog problems.
FastAA Option: Added a now option for faster AA rendering in the ray tracer. It samples a few points in a pixel and one in each neighboring pixel and decides it it needs to keep sampling or just use what it already has. Check the "FastAA" box in the Render->AA Setup dialog to enable this. Anim8or uses the depth, normal, material, color, etc. of each sample to do this.
Save Art AA Settings to registry: These are saved so you don't have to reapply settings whenever you reload a project.
Fix bug in ArtFresnelReflactor::Sample_f(): that could return negative colors. This fix also speeds up dielectric material rendering be skipping rays with  a very small or even negative weight.
New Scene Attribute: Set the integer attribute to ShowFastA to 1 and you can see which pixels Anim8or was able to accelerate. For an NxN AA setting, the resulting image is BLACK when N sampels are used, ORANGE when 2*N samples are used, and violet, cyan or white for those that use all N*N samples. See the attached image for an example.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2017, 07:51:49 pm by Steve »
Logged

Trevor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
  • Goldfinger64 Dev OS:10.0.17017 Gfx:RX480 Loc:UK
    • View Profile
    • LS Tech Services
Re: Anim8or v1.0 Beta is available
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2017, 09:04:26 pm »

I nearly missed this because it wasn't in the development category.

Any new things from 1269?

Trev
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1546
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or v1.0 Beta is available
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2017, 09:15:14 pm »

I fixed a lot of small issues and inconsistencies but nothing major. For example:

* IK hot keys were inconsistent. Now they all use an upper case "I" to toggle the display and a lower case "i" to switch to the IK tool.
* Converting Text to splines had become disabled in the main Object editor.
* Changing values for HSV colors didn't work when they were shown in hex.
* A few obscure crashes for extreme cases (i.e. polygons with 2 vertices, which shouldn't happen to begin with but apparently does somehow.)

and some more things like that.
Logged

AlecJames

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or v1.0 Beta is available
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2017, 09:57:31 pm »

Thanks Steve, you've been busy :)

Logged

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 832
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: Anim8or v1.0 Beta is available
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2017, 10:39:09 am »

I think congratulations are in order, Steve!  :)
Logged

ENSONIQ5

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 929
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: Anim8or v1.0 Beta is available
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2017, 10:55:00 am »

Agreed, congrats Steve!  I have to admit, seeing "v1.0" in the thread title gave me chills!  Looking forward to checking this out.
Logged

captaindrewi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 450
  • errm...errr?
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or v1.0 Beta is available
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2017, 11:22:21 am »

I get this box running the v1.0 beta. win 10
doesn't happen and never has with any other version. :o
not a major problem but something new is happening to cause it.
Logged
!

selden

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
    • Modelling for Celestia
Re: Anim8or v1.0 Beta is available
« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2017, 11:23:41 am »

Do you plan to have a v1.0 beta bug report forum?

I have two to report, one minor and one major, which I'll put in the  Anim8or v0.98 Discussion Forum
Logged
Selden

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1546
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or v1.0 Beta is available
« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2017, 04:46:03 pm »

captaindrewi: It all depends on the security settings on your computer. Try clicking "Run anyway" and the see if it asks again when you try to run it a second time. Do you remember if it asked about previous versions of Anim8or when you first ran them?

selden: Thanks, I just added a forum for v1.0.
Logged

Trevor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
  • Goldfinger64 Dev OS:10.0.17017 Gfx:RX480 Loc:UK
    • View Profile
    • LS Tech Services
Re: Anim8or v1.0 Beta is available
« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2017, 07:45:20 pm »

It asked me too, never did with previous builds.

Windows Defender uploaded the file to MS but clicking Run Anyway works and it doesn't bother again.

Hopefully this will be fixed on MS end.

Trev
Logged

captaindrewi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 450
  • errm...errr?
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or v1.0 Beta is available
« Reply #10 on: March 24, 2017, 12:49:20 am »

captaindrewi: It all depends on the security settings on your computer. Try clicking "Run anyway" and the see if it asks again when you try to run it a second time. Do you remember if it asked about previous versions of Anim8or when you first ran them
captaindrewi: It all depends on the security settings on your computer. Try clicking "Run anyway" and the see if it asks again when you try to run it a second time. Do you remember if it asked about previous versions of Anim8or when you first ran them?
Clicking on 'run anyway' results in anim8or working but the dialog box freezing on the screen..the only way to remove the box [calls itself smartscreen] is via task manager. exiting anim80r then restarting brings up the same dialogue box again.
This is new to me no other version has caused this box to appear and i have run every release.
Logged
!

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1546
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or v1.0 Beta is available
« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2017, 01:11:11 am »

This is quite puzzling. I don't build it any differently than before. I changed the internal release number to 1.0.0.0 from 0.9.8.0 which is a property of the executable file. That shouldn't make a difference that I know of. I'll see if I can find out what's going on.
Logged

ENSONIQ5

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 929
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: Anim8or v1.0 Beta is available
« Reply #12 on: March 24, 2017, 06:38:10 am »

I received the MS Essentials security warning on downloading the zip file but no problems running V1.0 beta.

EDIT: W7 Home Premium 6.1.7601 SP 1 Bld 7601
« Last Edit: March 24, 2017, 06:39:19 am by ENSONIQ5 »
Logged

Raxx

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1450
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or v1.0 Beta is available
« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2017, 05:34:19 am »

Congratulations Steve :) It's odd not seeing v0.9X tailing Anim8or's name anymore.
Logged

captaindrewi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 450
  • errm...errr?
    • View Profile
Re: Anim8or v1.0 Beta is available
« Reply #14 on: March 25, 2017, 10:28:23 am »

@Steve..I have downloaded the new version again, this time from the anim8or site and its now working ok. :)
Previously i had downloaded the 1.0 beta from Kreators Anim8or Facebook area and that edition/version gives me the dialog box.
Sorry to cause you undue work. :(
On further inspection i found the location of the troublesome version was downloaded to some obscure location within IE. and i think the cause was that it was being run from this odd location.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2017, 03:08:47 pm by captaindrewi »
Logged
!
Pages: [1] 2 3