Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Quick Texture Reload Feature?  (Read 3646 times)

lawrence

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Quick Texture Reload Feature?
« on: April 09, 2008, 04:12:59 pm »

Here's a problem I have; when working on a texture in photoshop, every time I save it and want to see the updated texture on my model in Anim8or, I have to trawl through the material editor - surface texture editor - texture selector - delete the existing texture - then load the updated one. Having to do with every couple of minutes or so really slows down work-flow.
So I was wondering if there could be feature which reloads textures either in real-time or periodically or failing that, at least a button on any of the main tool bars which reloaded textures. What do you think Steve?
Logged

Kubajzz

  • Flying Platypus
  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 548
  • Little doggie ate my avatar...
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Texture Reload Feature?
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2008, 04:22:05 pm »

I agree with this... I have the same problem when texturing :-[

I don't know how about periodical reloading... At least having a new "reload" button next to the "load" and "delete" buttons would help...
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Texture Reload Feature?
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2008, 05:18:17 pm »

I completely agree with this as well.  Just a simple update button perhaps?
Logged

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 830
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: Quick Texture Reload Feature?
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2008, 06:04:39 pm »

<proclamation>i hereby declare my full agreement with you all!</proclamation>  i've just been dealing with this exact issue this afternoon.

:)

- colclough
Logged

lawrence

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Texture Reload Feature?
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2008, 06:47:37 pm »

The reason I think periodic reloading would be better than a button is so that you could have a small anim8or window in the corner and see updates basically in real-time as you paint in photoshop, without having to stop and switch windows.
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Texture Reload Feature?
« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2008, 09:17:00 pm »

Well, yes, but I'm sure that would slow down anim8or a lot.  Especially with large, high quality textures that already take a while to load.
Logged

floyd86

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1056
    • View Profile
    • http://youtube.com/profile?user=floyd386
Re: Quick Texture Reload Feature?
« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2008, 09:06:37 am »

Ye, I got this problem so often. It would be helpfull to have a sort of reload button.

CobraSpectre

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Texture Reload Feature?
« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2008, 10:27:59 am »

This would be a nice feature when you are trying to test out how a texture will look.

Textures do take a while to load, so a "smart" texture reloader would be needed. The image you are working on externally would have to be saved over the same file name that anim8or is referencing. A hash of the current images would be stored, and hashes would be rechecked to see if they have changed, and if so reloaded.
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1542
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Texture Reload Feature?
« Reply #8 on: April 12, 2008, 12:02:38 am »

What about a reload button/command that only reaload testure files whit a changed date?  That wouldn't use any time unless the texture was updated.

Alternately I might be able to add an auto load setting that updates textures whenever they are changed using a Windows notification message.  I don't know how to do this but I can probably figure it out.
Logged

Tanzim

  • Guest
Re: Quick Texture Reload Feature?
« Reply #9 on: April 12, 2008, 12:50:23 am »

Great idea Lawrence, cheers Steve!
Logged