Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: character anim8ing  (Read 801 times)

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 814
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
character anim8ing
« on: May 05, 2017, 02:50:34 pm »

Anim8or is so cool.
Got a couple of thoughts after my latest wee dabble...
https://s3.postimg.org/4v3zxcpcz/ggymn4c.gif

 
 Changing between object and screen co-ordinates seems fairly crucial now, for me anyway, when animating a character.
 A new habit to learn when in scene mode. Use 'Object Coordinates' when animating a rig, then change to 'Screen coordinates' to move position or orientation. (has caught me out a few times now. Thank god, (steve), for being able to slide outside the work area to cancel the last move. Has saved my butt many times)
  I notice  'co-ordinates' change globally, maybe it would be better if they didn't..?
... any thoughts anyone.....
 
(btw steve: shortcut key 'j' for Screen Coordinates is showing as 's' in Scene mode.  ((in the info bit at bottom left of screen when hovering over a button.)). 'j' works tho.  's' is scale of course. :)

 The other thing,

 Selecting a bone in the timetrack, (left colum), doesnt show the associated trackball in the scene, but often selecting a bone through the timetrack is because you can't clearly see the bone to select it.
 Its a gr8 way of selecting a bone that you can't reach.
 So the trackball should probably show when the bone is selected by timetrack entry.

Anim8or is so cool.

« Last Edit: May 05, 2017, 02:53:14 pm by johnar »
Logged
%

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: character anim8ing
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2017, 04:07:52 pm »

"I notice 'co-ordinates' change globally, maybe it would be better if they didn't..?" - I'm not quite sure what you mean here. Can you be more specific?

"shortcut key 'j' for Screen Coordinates is showing as 's' in Scene mode." - Thanks, will fixed.
"So the trackball should probably show when the bone is selected by timetrack entry." - Oops! I must have left out a bit of code. I'll fix this, too.

"Anim8or is so cool." :) :) :)

Logged

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 814
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: character anim8ing
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2017, 06:34:02 am »

Quote
"I notice 'co-ordinates' change globally, maybe it would be better if they didn't..?" - I'm not quite sure what you mean here. Can you be more specific?
Sure, but it's not actually a biggy

 Every time you enter the Sequence editor 'object co-ordinates' is selected by default. That's cool.
 The other 3 editors don't have a default co-ordinate setting. Thats also cool.
 Whats been catching me out, is that when you change  the co-ordinate mode in any one editor, it changes  in all the other editors as well.
 (except sequence editor)

   I suppose its always been like this, and i've only just noticed since after the addition of trackball, (and IK?), and with it the need to change between object and screen co-ordinates more often than previously.
 Its not a biggy, really, and is possibly fine left as it is. (which is why i asked if anyone else had an opinion).
 It only affects me when working between sequence and scene editors, and if i just try to remain aware of which co-ordinates are selected when first entering the scene editor, then everything is fine. If no-one else gets caught out in a similar type of way, then its just me, and not something that really needs looking at.
 
Hope that's clarrified what i was meaning, and unless you decide otherwise, it's just an observation which makes no difference to anything, because anim8or is so cool anyway.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2017, 06:37:12 am by johnar »
Logged
%

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: character anim8ing
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2017, 06:43:07 am »

OK, I see what your mean mow. I think it really should be consistent. Do you think it would be better to: (a) always change is all of the editors or, (b) have each one keep their own setting?
Logged

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 814
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: character anim8ing
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2017, 06:53:39 am »

(b) have each one keep their own setting  :)

 
EDIT: As it is, Scene co-ordinates is the default setting in Object, figure and scene editors, with object co-ordinates the default for sequence editor. This has always been fine in the past, so these could stay as the default settings when opening anim8or.  ;)
 
« Last Edit: May 07, 2017, 09:48:33 am by johnar »
Logged
%

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: character anim8ing
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2017, 08:02:43 pm »

I've updated Anim8or to keep a separate coordinate system for each of the Object, Figure, Sequence and Scene editors. This will be in the v1.0 release
Logged