Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Move the Rotation Axis?  (Read 444 times)

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Move the Rotation Axis?
« on: August 09, 2017, 12:57:45 am »

This is a problem I've had a lot with my Anim8or projects. The rotation axis, or "center" of the mesh, gets moved far away from the actual center of the mesh. Or where I really want it to be for that matter, and then when I want to rotate it, it gets shot off into space.



Back in the day, stretching the mesh in Object/Edit mode would usually reset it, but that's not working anymore. Is there an option to move the axis? I can't find anything.
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: Move the Rotation Axis?
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2017, 02:52:32 am »

Click on the Object/Axis tool (hot key O) at the top of the left-hand toolbar. View your model in WireFrame (hot key Ctrl-W) and select the model. The Pivot will then be visible. Use the Move (hot key m) tool to position it where you want it.
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: Move the Rotation Axis?
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2017, 02:54:31 am »

Note: there is a bug that I almost have fixed that causes the rotation to ignore the pivot. I should have a post up in a day or so.
Logged

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: Move the Rotation Axis?
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2017, 03:36:09 am »

Oh wow, that was right in front of me. How did I miss that.

Probably because I assumed it was something I wouldn't understand and ignored it. Lol
Logged

ENSONIQ5

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 928
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: Move the Rotation Axis?
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2017, 07:48:56 am »

The origin point always coincides with the centre of the screen 'cross-hairs' when creating an object.  So if the object is created away from this screen centre, the origin point won't be near the object.  A 'centre hot point' function would be a nice addition to the Edit>Locate functions in a future update :)
Logged

Gyperboloid

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
  • It's better not to do anything, than to do nothing
    • View Profile
Re: Move the Rotation Axis?
« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2017, 01:25:33 am »

Yeap, there are some little issues with the object pivot. This sometimes also happens when scalling I think. Something I noticed is the screen shot Cori posted. It looks like a shot from inside an expensive commercial 3D program. And that's because of the new ( well, now kind of a new )color scheme. Steve, will be the old one available for ever, since eyes actuly realy get tyred on long modeling sessions?
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: Move the Rotation Axis?
« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2017, 09:44:37 pm »

@CoriDavis: Please give this a try - it should fix the rotation issues in the Object editor.

http://www.anim8or.com/download/files/animv100a.zip
Logged