Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: graph editor and timetrack  (Read 393 times)

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 812
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
graph editor and timetrack
« on: September 13, 2017, 11:28:35 am »

 Hi steve,
 I've been working on quite a bit of lip syncing, and a bit of anim8ion, lately, and Anim8or is a great tool for lipsyncing your characters. (once you have the timing sheet)
  (Depending on the qualities of the morph shapes), the keyframing and graph editor functions make it possible to have excellent, and simple, control over the morphing process.
 Shortcut keys for 'keying selected and 'keying all' have hugely sped up the proccess of animating.
 Although some other softwares have automated lip syncing, and probably with the ability to tweek the keyframes afterwards,  Taking into account what i've said above, i reckon Anim8or is right up there with the best of them.
 If you have a great quality model, or character, and some great quality morph targets made, Anim8or has the capabilities to make some truly great results in face expression and speech.
 I'm working on fine tuneing the lipsyncing process in Anim8or, and am really getting somewhere.
 One day, when i have it perfected, i'll do a video tut, which i'm sure will be very helpfull to many people.
  I'm working with what we've got, and will post things relevant, pluses and minuses.
  So, one thought i wanted to share, after many hours of lipsyncing.....



  When the graph editor is showing above the floating timetrack, it cuts the timetrack in half. If theres a lot of morph targets in the timetrack, and the graph editor is hiding half the screen, then its back to scrolling up and down trying to locate the different morph targets. Being able to drag the height of the timetrack, as above, would fix this 'really annoying' problem.
 What do you think?
 By the way. Now that we can hide bones within folders in the timetrack, i can see 'all' of my morph targets without having to scroll. The difference is night and day.
 (In the gif above, i've got the graph editor being turned on and off from within the floating timetrack. Although it would be cool, its not really necessary, because theres always hotkeys Ctrl-P to do that)
 Nice one steve. Keep up the outstanding work.
 Anim8or rocks.  :)
   
Logged
%

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1526
    • View Profile
Re: graph editor and timetrack
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2017, 08:27:12 pm »

Well, a sliding divider between the graph editing area and the time track was the idea, but somehow my programming team never got around to finishing it. I'll see if I can talk them into doing it .
Logged

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 822
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: graph editor and timetrack
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2017, 09:04:39 pm »

I'll see if I can talk them into doing it .
bribe 'em with coffee; i'm told that usually does the trick when it comes to motivating a programmer 8)
Logged

Claude

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 246
    • View Profile
Re: graph editor and timetrack
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2017, 10:53:32 pm »

Beer maybe even better?
But only after change is made.
Logged

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 812
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: graph editor and timetrack
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2017, 08:38:32 am »

  Thanks team steve  :)

Logged
%

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 812
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: graph editor and timetrack
« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2017, 10:31:23 am »

steve
 While the team are looking into the above, there's something else which is worth mentioning.
 When the graph editor opens, 'ALL' is activated by default. This can actually take some time to load when theres a lot of bones/morphtargets.
 As there doesn't really seem to be any need(?) for this to happen, then perhaps it would be better to open with the 'ALL' button un-selected. ? (or is there a reason for it to be like it is?)

 PS> I've got a new laptop, which doesn't yet have my 'emotigfs' loaded onto it...... might just download them now ......

EDIT. 
« Last Edit: September 17, 2017, 10:40:29 am by johnar »
Logged
%

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1526
    • View Profile
Re: graph editor and timetrack
« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2017, 03:35:47 pm »

johnar: Give Build 1301 a try. It lets you reposition the horizontal divider bar in the Graph Editor. It also saved the All setting in the registry so that it starts with the same setting that you were using in the previous session.
Logged

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 812
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: graph editor and timetrack
« Reply #7 on: September 22, 2017, 09:30:36 am »

Perfect!.
Logged
%