Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: view width/height/depth on non-primitives  (Read 187 times)

davdud101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 971
  • Couldn't ever use Blender or Maya. Anim8or's good.
    • View Profile
view width/height/depth on non-primitives
« on: July 26, 2018, 02:23:50 am »

This seems like a simple one, since it's already integrated on some objects; I do a lot of CAD in Anim8or - which, Steve, the software is really becoming great for! - but it'd be useful the Mesh Editor dialogue (or something like that) could show the dimensions of an object.

cheers!
Logged
?

davdud101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 971
  • Couldn't ever use Blender or Maya. Anim8or's good.
    • View Profile
Re: view width/height/depth on non-primitives
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2018, 02:29:17 am »

One other thing.. Anim8or has some nice rounding-features for numbers like in the Grid Settings dialogue, BUT it makes for a hard time doing accurate 1/16 inch (0,0625 in) measurements on an object when Anim8or rounds that value it to 0.06

Is that adjustable?
Logged
?

Trevor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
  • Goldfinger64 Dev OS:10 CPU:5960x Gfx:RX480 Loc:UK
    • View Profile
    • LS Tech Services
Re: view width/height/depth on non-primitives
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2018, 06:13:49 pm »

you can use CAD view (looks like a ruler) and debug A

Oh wow, CAD view has been updated to show legnths of selected lines and angles between them. (whoops, apparently this has been true since Dec 2017)

As for grid, just set it in grid settings.

Ohh… I see, yeah ok, it rounds back to 0.06 instead of 4dp.

Trev

Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1648
    • View Profile
Re: view width/height/depth on non-primitives
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2018, 08:43:48 pm »

davdud101: "Is the precision of the CAD numbers adjustable?" That's a good idea. I'll see if I can add an option for it.
Logged

davdud101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 971
  • Couldn't ever use Blender or Maya. Anim8or's good.
    • View Profile
Re: view width/height/depth on non-primitives
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2018, 02:52:01 am »

just found out my question about Arc Rotate is answered here

http://www.anim8or.com/smf/index.php/topic,5644.msg43088/topicseen.html#msg43088

Cool stuff Steve!
Logged
?