Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: How do you color.  (Read 2961 times)

chubysnow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
How do you color.
« on: April 19, 2008, 04:28:09 pm »

So hello I just started and I want to know how to add color to the black lines. Please help.
Logged

falloffalot

  • Guest
Re: How do you color.
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2008, 04:45:52 pm »

Welcome to the forum. :)
Could do with a bit more info, a screen shot would be good.
Logged

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 832
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: How do you color.
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2008, 04:52:29 pm »

you mean you want to colour the wireframe?  unfortunately that's not really doable, and the wireframe is never shown in any rendered output.  the renderer only pays attention to the faces, which are easy enough to colour, using the materials editor.  it's possible to trick the program so that it looks like you've rendered a wireframe (there's a thread around here somewhere, about doing that), but it's not an actual coloured wireframe.

sorry about that :-\

well, welcome to the forum, anyway, and hopefully we'll be able to give you a more helpful answer to your next question... ;)

- colclough
Logged

chubysnow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: How do you color.
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2008, 04:59:47 pm »

No I mean like if you use a tool to make a cylinder it just comes out as a bunch of 3d white lines how do I add color in between the lines.
Logged

floyd86

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1056
    • View Profile
    • http://youtube.com/profile?user=floyd386
Re: How do you color.
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2008, 05:05:46 pm »

The white lines you see are the wireframe. To get an other screen press the flat shaded or the smooth shaded icons above the work view. The cubes and the sphere.

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 832
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: How do you color.
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2008, 05:23:36 pm »

ah, that's what you meant!  ctrl-s will do the trick, although some of us have been trying to get steve to change it so that ctrl-s does save, like in most other programs ;D

- colclough
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: How do you color.
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2008, 09:15:37 pm »

After that, you'll want to check out this part of the manual.
It sounds to me like you haven't read the manual at all, since this is all covered in the manual.  So, before you go any further READ THE MANUAL!
Logged