Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Stretching the duration of an animation  (Read 4200 times)

NewbNewb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Stretching the duration of an animation
« on: April 04, 2008, 02:30:00 pm »

Hi all,

I would like to know if it is possible de stretch the duration of an animation. Is there any tool to manipulate the time track? As an example, I would like to double the number of frames so that the animation looks longer (and thus slower).
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: Stretching the duration of an animation
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2008, 02:33:45 pm »

Simple mate!... you are not limited to just 72 frames go to Scene/Settings/Scene

and You`lll get scene parameters Box, adjust the length to suit !


Logged
O

NewbNewb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Stretching the duration of an animation
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2008, 02:49:22 pm »

Ok thanks for the reply.
In fact, I already have an animation that last for about 10s (using the default frame rate). I would like it to last for 20 without having to manually add frames... Either by modifying the frame rate (maybe with a specific tool outside anim8or, I don't know) or by automatically add frames in between the existing ones...
Logged

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 820
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: Stretching the duration of an animation
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2008, 03:27:47 pm »

go to View > Preferences, then at the bottom of the dialogue box, select 'Other', and type '12' into the little text box next to it.  you probably also want to check that 'Limit Playback' is enabled.  hit OK, and voila!  your animation will run at half the speed.  :)

you don't want to drop the frame rate below 10 or 12, or it'll start looking rough and jerky, but 12 is fine.  i usually do my stopmotion material at 12.5 fps.  yes, i do other stuff besides anim8or - what a traitor i am!  >:(  or should that be tr8or?  ::)

- colclough
Logged

NewbNewb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Stretching the duration of an animation
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2008, 04:23:46 pm »

Oh, great thanks! I've checked the manual but did not looked in the right place! ;D
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: Stretching the duration of an animation
« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2008, 05:41:32 pm »

This does slow down the animation, but it also makes it lower quality.  So, another way to extend your animation is using Mongoose's frame-rate changer
Logged

NewbNewb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Stretching the duration of an animation
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2008, 08:14:01 am »

Thanks hihosilver, that's exactly what I was loking for! And it works perfectly!
Logged

Alpha2

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
Re: Stretching the duration of an animation
« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2008, 09:32:08 pm »

I downloaded the fram rate changer and I dunno I guess I didn't use it right, but I decided I was going to delete it. now for some reason my computer refuses to delete it because it says it's in use by another application. I mean even in safe mode it wont let me get rid of it, anyone have an idea what the deal is with this or how to remove it?

I'm using Winxp SP1
Logged

Alpha2

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
Re: Stretching the duration of an animation
« Reply #8 on: April 20, 2008, 12:31:02 am »

anyone know how to get intouch with Mongoose? It's a small program sure and probably isnt doing much to mysystem but it's really kinda annoying to know I can't move or remove this thing as it stands right now and I'd really like to ask his help if no one else knows how to fix this.
Logged

boron

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Stretching the duration of an animation
« Reply #9 on: April 20, 2008, 06:41:57 am »

Runs in a dos window.
Try and locate the window and type 'exit'.
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: Stretching the duration of an animation
« Reply #10 on: April 20, 2008, 08:07:13 am »

try going to the task manager, and go into the processes section and see if you can find the process and end the process.
Logged