Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Would a fullscreen mode work on vista if problems are occuring?  (Read 2746 times)

Yit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile

Hi Steve,

I had to stop using Anim8or when I got my Vista laptop (my fingers burn when I type that word).  I know that the graphical aspects of Vista prevent the use of Anim8or, and I have tried installing the "correct" drivers and turning off all the Aero themes. Didn't help.

So I was wondering if you thought a full screen mode would work, since it bypasses all the graphical junk that Microsoft thought would be a swell idea. 

I tried to use Blender, which works on Vista, but it is a hopelessy cluttered and unintuitive mess.  I prefer Anim8or 100%. Please don't let the flame die out!!
Logged

falloffalot

  • Guest
Re: Would a fullscreen mode work on vista if problems are occuring?
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2008, 09:32:36 pm »

Welcome to the forum Yit
Anim8or runs fine on my laptop with Vista OS, you may need to adjust the compatablilty settings for Anim8or.
Hope this helps.
Logged

Yit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Would a fullscreen mode work on vista if problems are occuring?
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2008, 12:54:00 am »

I actually did change and rechange all the compatiblity settings. At one point i got a black drawing area, but no splash screen and it froze when i tried to draw.
Logged

Raxx

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1446
    • View Profile
Re: Would a fullscreen mode work on vista if problems are occuring?
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2008, 01:15:34 am »

Until Steve implements better Vista support, whether you can use Anim8or on Vista is hit-or-miss, apparently. My Vista Home Basic installation on an AMD/ATI-chipset based laptop performed pretty much as badly as what you described. However, later on I built a high-spec computer and installed Vista Ultimate on it, and it runs almost perfectly except for a few annoyances here and there (rectangle select ghosting and GUI refreshes after every action).

I'd recommend the possibly more pricey solution (if you purchase a license instead of downloading it illegally) of installing Windows XP onto your laptop, or dual-booting it. Apparently there's a way to downgrade the Vista installation to XP without actually having to go out and pay for a new XP license. This is only if you have a legit Vista installation in the first place and have the product key on hand. Here's some links for more information:

http://www.computerworld.com/action/article.do?command=viewArticleBasic&articleId=9040318
http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/06/22/how-to-downgrade-windows-vista-to-xp/

You can also try GLDirect, which translates all the opengl rendering in Anim8or to directx (Vista apparently handles directx much better than opengl). You may have to try registering the free version while running it as administrator: http://www.majorgeeks.com/GLDirect_d381.html

This has been covered quite often in this forum and the original forum. Feel free to search them for more clues. Good luck.
Logged

JOtto

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Would a fullscreen mode work on vista if problems are occuring?
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2008, 07:03:20 am »

The GLDirect solution worked for me, finally I can run Anim8or again.  I would suggest that this solution be listed among those in the "Vista Problems" link on the left.
Logged