Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: Enterprise Refit (WIP)  (Read 20823 times)

Tanzim

  • Guest
Re: Enterprise Refit (WIP)
« Reply #30 on: June 06, 2008, 02:20:16 pm »

Good GOD!!!
And your computer doesn't lag or just go unstable, that's so high poly it could be used for shading instead of having it rendered!
Logged

kahlua17

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise Refit (WIP)
« Reply #31 on: June 06, 2008, 04:53:27 pm »

Why exactly do you convert the object to mesh after subdividing?  In my opinion it gives you much less control.

I believe it is to get the necessary rounded edges, but then allows Olias to go back and make straight edge extrudes, cuts, etc.  The details on the bridge and nacelles are key examples of this.
Logged

Olias

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise Refit (WIP)
« Reply #32 on: June 06, 2008, 06:13:36 pm »

Hiho: What Kahlua said.  That about sums it up.  Also applying a texture with Anim8or's UV tools to a subdivide generally results in weirdness.

Tanzim: No, no problems at all - we're only talking about 35,000 polys here.  I've worked with models having several hundred thousand polys and even then the only lag involved has been in point-edit mode. 
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise Refit (WIP)
« Reply #33 on: June 07, 2008, 11:44:32 pm »

Yeah, I figured it would mainly be the second.  Just so you know, if you want sharp edges with subdivision you just need to use the "Edit>Edge properties" and you can make sharp edges.
Logged

Olias

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise Refit (WIP)
« Reply #34 on: June 09, 2008, 06:26:06 pm »

Hmm, I might be missing something, but edge properties seems to have no effect whatsoever.
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise Refit (WIP)
« Reply #35 on: June 09, 2008, 08:36:10 pm »

The 'rounded' setting on a subdivision should have an effect for you.  Try different values, such as 2 or 4.
Logged

Olias

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise Refit (WIP)
« Reply #36 on: June 09, 2008, 11:06:30 pm »

Yup, tried all that.  Absolutely nothing at all.
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: Enterprise Refit (WIP)
« Reply #37 on: June 10, 2008, 12:16:48 am »

Are you selecting an individual edge?  It's best to do a loop, or at least a few edges in a loop.  You also normally want to put in a number less than or equal to the subdivision level of the object.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]