Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Zoom out and rings  (Read 4305 times)

Glenn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Zoom out and rings
« on: May 31, 2008, 12:22:09 pm »

Hello guys,

i am new here and i have made a solar system.
But i want make the rings on saturn, but how do i made this?
I have try allot of things but nothing helps.
And how do i zoom out?

(Sorry for the bad English i am Dutch)
Logged

floyd86

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1056
    • View Profile
    • http://youtube.com/profile?user=floyd386
Re: Zoom out and rings
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2008, 01:22:16 pm »

Hi,
To make things easier for the guy I will post this in dutch:
-Ringen kan je maken door een cylinder te maken met lat: 1 en een lon die je zelf wilt (des te hoger des te mooier). Dan moet je de bovenste en onderste faces selecteren in point edit mode en gebruik de inset tool (shift+i). En druk vervolgens op '=' wat je een ring geeft. Met een mooie texture kan je het dan goed laten lijken op een ring van saturnus. Texture kan je hier krijgen: http://planetpixelemporium.com/index.php (lees de copyright informatie) .
In en uitzoemen kan je met de arc rotate tool (shift+r) en dan met je middelste muisknop of anders met je rechter muisknop en 'alt'.-

Short summary for the rest of you:
Rings can be made with an cylinder by using the inset tool and then brigde it. Textures for planets can be found here: http://planetpixelemporium.com/index.php (read the copyright information). Zooming can be done with the arc rotate tool (shift+r) with the middle mousebutton or the right+alt.

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 832
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: Zoom out and rings
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2008, 01:57:33 pm »

i make planet rings out of a cylinder, with very high diameter settings (one larger than the other, say start=450 and end=500), almost no height (usually 0.01), and no start or end caps.  i also use latitude divs=1, and longitude = something very high, maybe as much as 200 depending how big my planet is.

this method has the advantage that the rings are still an easily-editable primitive (useful if you change your mind about ring size later), rather than a harder-to-edit mesh or subdiv.

also, to zoom in or out when you're looking through the camera in scene mode, you can animate the camera's FOV property.  bigger numbers = bigger viewing area.

:)

- colclough
Logged

Glenn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Zoom out and rings
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2008, 07:43:34 pm »

I dont understand it :(
Can you do it in steps?
Logged

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 832
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: Zoom out and rings
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2008, 11:09:11 pm »

not sure whether you meant you didn't understand floyd86's method, or mine, but anyway, here's a screenshot of what my method looks like.  you just add a cylinder primitive, and then set up its properties something like what i've shown in the picture, and voila!  you have rings.

you have to make sure you turn off the start and end caps, or the rings will go the whole way in to the planet surface, without any gaps.

hope that helps :)

- colclough
Logged

Glenn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Zoom out and rings
« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2008, 10:51:12 am »

Thanks thecolclaugh!

One little question when i draw lines like for making a car or house or what ever and draw a rectangle or something it stays empty?

Logged

floyd86

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1056
    • View Profile
    • http://youtube.com/profile?user=floyd386
Re: Zoom out and rings
« Reply #6 on: June 01, 2008, 11:34:55 am »

You should select the spline and use Build>fill. But its easier to start with an primitive like a cube and add faces and points to it, then 'drawing' it yourself.

Glenn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Zoom out and rings
« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2008, 05:53:32 pm »

Can i ''cut'' a sphere in two so i have a halve sphere?
« Last Edit: June 01, 2008, 05:56:22 pm by Glenn »
Logged

floyd86

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1056
    • View Profile
    • http://youtube.com/profile?user=floyd386
Re: Zoom out and rings
« Reply #8 on: June 01, 2008, 07:56:37 pm »

Yes, you can, with the cut tool, or loop cut tool or just delete the points you don;t need. But most answers on the questions you ask can be found in the manual (the link left). First try to find your answers there before you go ask it here on the forum.   

Glenn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Zoom out and rings
« Reply #9 on: June 02, 2008, 05:06:27 pm »

[imghttp://img169.imageshack.us/img169/2268/strangecrapch6.png[/img]

I cant use point edit mode >:(
I have the whole time that kind of stupid probs
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: Zoom out and rings
« Reply #10 on: June 02, 2008, 05:33:45 pm »

Have you converted the object to mesh? (select the object, then go "build>convert to mesh")
If you have, you may just not be getting the points to show up, to do that go "File>Configure GUI" then check whatever you want visible in whatever views.
Logged

bamman62

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Re: Zoom out and rings
« Reply #11 on: June 05, 2008, 05:12:50 am »

It could also be a group, but you need to convert the object to a mesh. If that doesn't work try ungroup.
Logged