Anim8or Community

General Category => General Anim8or Forum => Topic started by: aGMuser on September 12, 2008, 03:51:22 pm

Title: Nooby problem
Post by: aGMuser on September 12, 2008, 03:51:22 pm
I don't know is here the place for this topic, so if this is the wrong place, please, move it.I'm at point edit mode, multiply select, option to select points, but when I drag the mouse, I cant select.Where is the problem?When I made that eggyplant, there wasn't any problem at all with point selecting.Is this related to the way I've drawed the cube?
Title: Re: Nooby problem
Post by: thecolclough on September 12, 2008, 04:11:05 pm
did you remember to convert the cube to a mesh before trying to select points?
Title: Re: Nooby problem
Post by: aGMuser on September 12, 2008, 04:14:03 pm
How to convert the cube to a mesh?
Title: Re: Nooby problem
Post by: thecolclough on September 12, 2008, 04:29:37 pm
in object-edit mode, you have to select the cube, and go Build > Convert to Mesh.  you should see its bounding box change colour, from yellow to white.  that means it's now a mesh.  then when you go to point-edit mode, there should now be little black boxes at each vertice of the mesh, which you can select and move around.  ;)
Title: Re: Nooby problem
Post by: aGMuser on September 12, 2008, 04:35:59 pm
Thank you very much!It works! :D
Title: Re: Nooby problem
Post by: thecolclough on September 12, 2008, 05:00:04 pm
you're welcome ;)
Title: Re: Nooby problem
Post by: mack on September 20, 2008, 07:13:11 pm
*hijacks noob thread*

hey, well I used to use anim8or about a year and a half ago, but I switched to blender and now I'm going to try to use anim8or just for modeling. But the work flow seems a lot slower than blenders(probably just because I'm not used to it) so I need some help getting started


I need to know some things like:

is there a way to move something without leaving select mode?(in point edit mode) a hotkey or something

is there a way to move something along an axis without having to go enable one? again, a hotkey, or do you just use different mouse buttons?

when i move something why does it go all crazy like across the screen, it doesn't follow the mouse, there is probably an explanation for this but can someone explain it?


I will probably have more later as I get used to it and want to work even faster but these are all that are slowing me down right now

Title: Re: Nooby problem
Post by: thecolclough on September 20, 2008, 08:03:52 pm
the hotkey 'm' puts you into Move mode.  you can use hotkeys 'x', 'y' and 'z' to disable/re-enable movement in the respective dimensions.  not really sure what you mean in your 3rd point... bit more explanation maybe?
Title: Re: Nooby problem
Post by: mack on September 20, 2008, 08:12:11 pm
Oh ok, I was hoping for a way to just press a hot key and be able to move it

Do you really have to set up the x,y,z just to move along an axis? it seemed like one 2 of the mouse buttons moved up and down and left click moved along the view plane, is there anything to that?

And the third point, it seems like it's just to be able to move the points quicker
Title: Re: Nooby problem
Post by: hihosilver on September 20, 2008, 08:18:14 pm
I understand the third point I believe.  Below the x y and z constraints there are three different coordinate modes you can move along.  The third (screen coordinates) is the most commonly used.  I'm sure you're using either world or object coordinates right now which would give you the strange movement.

You're right, to move the object itself you do have to switch to object edit mode "shift + a" then press 'm'.  I don't know of any shortcut that will put you right there.  So you'll have to press 2 buttons.
The constraints as well could perhaps be designed better.  It'd be nice to be able to hold down shift and move along a specified axis.
Though, you can move along the z-axis by itself by using the middle mouse button, but x and y tend to move together unless you disable the x or y axis (so if using screen coordinates you don't really need to worry about enabling or disabling the z-axis which should make things easier.)
Title: Re: Nooby problem
Post by: aGMuser on September 21, 2008, 09:39:51 am
OK, another nooby problem, I didnt create seperate topic because I dont want to flood the forum with my questions  ;)
I've tried to give a texture to the model, from materials->textures, but I recieved only mess.How I can create .bmp texture files witch fit perfrectly to my model?How to import them in an8 file?Are they saved when I export the model into obj file?Should I use UV maping, what is this and what it means?
Title: Re: Nooby problem
Post by: floyd86 on September 21, 2008, 11:34:30 am
OK, another nooby problem, I didnt create seperate topic because I dont want to flood the forum with my questions  ;)
I've tried to give a texture to the model, from materials->textures, but I recieved only mess.How I can create .bmp texture files witch fit perfrectly to my model?How to import them in an8 file?Are they saved when I export the model into obj file?Should I use UV maping, what is this and what it means?

At first i would like to say that most answers can be found in the manual (link over the <----) or by search on the internet (google is your friend).

But on to your questions:
UV-mapping is a method to texture you models. It unwraps your model to a 2d image which is easier to apply textures to. UV-mapping is realy helpfull for texturing the more complex models. For UV-mapping you can use uvmapper, which is easy to use, or more advanced software like lithunwrap or roadkill (a bit harder to use, but better)

To texture a model you go materials and make a new one, you probably already know that. Load you .bmp texture file in the right slots (ambient, diffuse, specular, bump...). Then to texture your model, select your model and hit apply. Now with the UV-tool in anim8or you can move your texture around on the model. The UV-tools can be found in object and point-edit mode right underneath the selection tools (it's a button with UV on it). Or you can use one of the UV-map software i just mentioned

Textures are not saved when you export your model to an .obj, but i belief the UV-map is (.mtl?)(please correct me if i'm wrong).
Title: Re: Nooby problem
Post by: aGMuser on September 21, 2008, 11:42:55 am
I've no idea are you wrong or not, all I need is make my model textured.So everything I need is lithunwrap or roadkill?Can you tell me witch software is most efficient, I mean make the textures quickly?
Title: Re: Nooby problem
Post by: floyd86 on September 21, 2008, 11:53:28 am
To texture quick I should use uvmapper: http://www.uvmapper.com/. Export you model as a .obj, load it in uvmapper. Unwrap it: Edit>new uvmap.
Export it as a .obj again and save the texture map (save model/save texture map). Paint the texture map in your favorite paint program. Load the mapped .obj file in anim8or and use the texture map as texture. Done.
Title: Re: Nooby problem
Post by: aGMuser on September 21, 2008, 12:08:10 pm
Ill try this later
Title: Re: Nooby problem
Post by: aGMuser on September 21, 2008, 12:22:24 pm
It works!10x!Umm..... do you know which format saves the texture coordinates?
Title: Re: Nooby problem
Post by: aGMuser on September 22, 2008, 09:40:04 am
Help?Please? ???
Title: Re: Nooby problem
Post by: floyd86 on September 22, 2008, 03:46:17 pm
I belief .obj does. not sure on this really
Title: Re: Nooby problem
Post by: aGMuser on September 22, 2008, 04:25:43 pm
Quote
Textures are not saved when you export your model to an .obj, but i belief the UV-map is (.mtl?)(please correct me if i'm wrong).
Quote
I belief .obj does.
Im so confused.Originaly you said tehyre not saved when I export them, now you claim the opposite.This doesnt make much sense for me.
Title: Re: Nooby problem
Post by: hihosilver on September 22, 2008, 05:23:16 pm
.obj files do save texture coordinates whether you export from anim8or or another program.  The .mtl file is a material definition file for a .obj file, it does not save texture coordinates, those are saved within the .obj file.