Anim8or Community

General Category => Anim8or v0.98 Discussion Forum => Topic started by: R Soul on July 19, 2009, 11:33:02 pm

Title: Crash when exporting as obj without texture
Post by: R Soul on July 19, 2009, 11:33:02 pm
If I export a model as obj, and there's a material whose texture cannot be found, the program crashes.

To be give an example:
Say I have a model which already has some textures, and I want to export some faces as obj files so I can work on the texture mapping in something like LithUnwrap. I select the faces and detach them, and then copy and paste the new mesh into a new file. The material is also pasted in but it loses the texture.

I can either delete the material or choose an image file for the texture, but if I forget, which is quite common, Anim8or will crash when I try to export the object. Would it be possible to insert some code which throws up an error message if there's no texture found, and prevents the crash?

edit: I'd also like to say a sincere thank you. Anim8or's a great program :D
Title: Re: Crash when exporting as obj without texture
Post by: 3Dgeek11 on July 21, 2009, 07:45:24 am
I don't have a clue how to fix this error, but I have the same problem.

Now that I've read your post, it's clear to me, that my problem is a model with textures that can't be found. Where as, if I do one without a material at all, it works fine.
Cool, but, unfortunately, I have no fix..
Title: Re: Crash when exporting as obj without texture
Post by: lynn22 on July 21, 2009, 08:55:41 am
You could try inverting your workflow and take care of those faces that need exporting first while your whole object is still a blank canvas that way there will not be any missing textures. Only start texturing the rest of your object when you have imported the faces that are UV mapped.
Title: Re: Crash when exporting as obj without texture
Post by: R Soul on July 26, 2009, 06:53:16 pm
Sometimes Anim8or can handle the UV mapping perfectly fine, other times not. There are times when I can only tell once the texture has been applied, so that's why I often run into this problem*. My main reason for posting was so that Mr Glanville would know it's an issue. I imagine it could be fixed with a try-catch block, or the equivalent for the language this is written in.


*Plus it was not an issue for previous versions because they didn't try to make the .mtl file.