Anim8or Community

General Category => Anim8or v0.98 Discussion Forum => Topic started by: Yodaman Jer on November 20, 2009, 08:31:37 pm

Title: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: Yodaman Jer on November 20, 2009, 08:31:37 pm
Hello everyone,

I downloaded the v0.97d preview of Anim8or and could not get it to launch. I tried running it as the administrator, then in XP compatibility mode, all to no avail.

I'm running Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (perhaps that's the issue right there?) with 4GBs of RAM, a 2.1GHz dual-core processor, and an Intel Graphics Media Accelerator chip with up to 1695MB VRAM. Is anyone experiencing similar issues with Anim8or and Windows 7?

BTW, unrelated, but these forums have changed a lot since I was last here (sometime in '07). I like it Steve, it really works well. :)

Thanks to all who respond!
Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: Paulo on November 21, 2009, 08:03:08 pm
Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bits + Anim8or v0.97d = no problem for me !
Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: odp04y on November 22, 2009, 11:59:48 am
Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bits + Anim8or v0.97d = no problem for me !

That's good I'm thinking of getting Win7 but I wouldn't get it if Anim8or didn't work on it.
Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: Yodaman Jer on November 23, 2009, 03:41:18 am
Ah, then it's definitely the fact that I have the 64-bit version of 7. Bummer.  :'(


I guess I'll just wait and see if Steve can add support for it or not. ::exercises patience::
Title: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: toiguew09 on December 09, 2009, 09:17:02 pm
Update.   I installed Windows 7 clean install and everything is working fine now.  Thanks everyone for the help.
Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: Kyle on December 25, 2009, 04:14:18 pm
Rather than make a new topic I might as well use this one. I just got a laptop with windows 7 and cant run anim8or either. is a clean install the only way to get it running? I'd really rather not have to do that...
Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: LordDeRock on December 25, 2009, 09:15:35 pm
I had this problem and I think I know how to fix it, what type of graphic card do you have?
Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: benzjie on January 02, 2010, 10:47:10 am
running w7 64, clean install and anim8or works just fine
Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: Kyle on January 05, 2010, 09:46:08 am
You on an intel chip by any chance? that seems to be my problem, not the OS.
Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: benzjie on January 08, 2010, 03:58:07 pm
nope..amd 955II BE ,  asrock mobo , 8800GT GC
Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: bigsprings0069 on January 09, 2010, 03:56:03 pm
I have Win 7 with a 64 bit, and everything worked fine, for a while. Now nothing will work. File will not open in any compatability or as administrator. Not sure what is going on. I have checked all drivers, and have not noticed any updates that would affect the use of Anim8or. I am not very profficient with computers so, I have missed something.
Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: SirBluDanes on January 22, 2010, 03:04:19 am
I'm having the exact same problem.
Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: Raxx on January 22, 2010, 07:08:08 am
For those of you with nvidia cards, you can try going here: http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/drivers

This site supplies the latest drivers possible that you won't find on the nvidia.com website. It requires a little bit of advanced windows usage. I go to this site all the time to get the latest and greatest ;)

Quick guide on how to find your dev and subsys IDs and install the drivers:


Obvious note: If you don't have an nvidia graphics accelerator, doing this won't help you at all
Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: bigsprings0069 on January 27, 2010, 07:17:34 pm
Anybody have any ideas for Intel users? If the labeling on my laptop didn't say Toshiba then I would swear Intel built this thing considering that is all this comp uses!
Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: TheLostJedi on March 15, 2010, 04:51:00 am
I recently bought an HP G60-535 Notebook with duel core Intel processors. All of my programs work on here including DAZ 3D, Celestia, Orbiter (Space Flight Simulator), and Terragen 2. For my main 3D program though I've always enjoyed Anim8or. It doesn't work and at first did nothing when i tried to open it, but after downloading the latest driver for series 4 processors it now opens but only shows a white screen in the main window. All buttons show and it will even show the materials if I select the materials button up top. Just for a test I opened one of my files and though I couldn't see it in the object window I managed to switch to perspective view still not seeing it pressed render and rendered it. Still couldn't see it, but saved the picture as a bitmap and viewed the finished picture with my picture viewer. It came out perfect. My operating system is Windows 7, and I believe this is due to Intels chips since everything else works fine. Its probably in the Open GL from what I've benn reading from others. I'm going to try to include my computer info on here and a description of my graphics settings so that Steve or someone else might be able to work out the problem.

Windows 7 Home Premium
System Info :
Manufacturer:              Hewlett-Packard
Model:                        HP G60 Notebook PC
Processor:                   Pentium(R) Duel-Core CPU     T4300 @ 2.10GHz 2.10 GHz
Installed Memory(RAM): 3.00 GB
System Type:              64-Bit Operating System

3D Graphics Settings
Custom Settings
                         Texture Quality:            Balance
                         Anisotropic Filtering:      Application Settings
                         Vertex Processing:         Default Settings
                         Vertical Sync:              Application Settings

Hope this helps
RT
Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: TheBlackHole on April 10, 2010, 12:49:11 pm
Rather than make a new topic I might as well use this one. I just got a laptop with windows 7 and cant run anim8or either. is a clean install the only way to get it running? I'd really rather not have to do that...
Same here. :(
Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: mrvbscript on May 28, 2010, 09:38:40 pm
Hello everybody! Recently installed Windows 7 and I'm a little problem with it:
works with compatibility for XP, but there is texture in my designs ...
How to solve this?
Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: hihosilver on May 29, 2010, 01:24:53 am
"View>Preferences" and make sure the "textures" box is ticked on.
Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: jmarcure on June 02, 2010, 10:04:52 pm
In both Vista and Windows 7 I have found that putting a check on Disable Desktop Composition works on my desktop with a Nvida card and my laptop with an Intel graphics chip set.

How to......
Right click on anim8or.exe
Select Properties  
Select Compatibility tab
Check off Disable Desktop Composition

If you you want you can also elect to run it  in XP sp2 mode.


My desktop runs Vista 64bit Ultimate and the Laptop 32bit Windows 7 Premium.



Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: TheBlackHole on June 18, 2010, 09:09:04 pm
I tried that, but no luck. I'm on 64-bit Win7.
Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: Sindre on July 07, 2010, 10:01:05 am
I have also a problem on Win7, but its pretty strange..
Everything in anim8or works, except the point edit mode..

I cant select anything in editmode..
I have not seen anyone with the same problem..
Can someone help me?
Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: floyd86 on July 07, 2010, 10:05:44 am
I have also a problem on Win7, but its pretty strange..
Everything in anim8or works, except the point edit mode..

I cant select anything in editmode..
I have not seen anyone with the same problem..
Can someone help me?


Have you converted you object to a mesh? In object mode go build>convert to mesh and then you can select points in point edit mode.
Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: Sindre on July 07, 2010, 10:33:22 am
I have also a problem on Win7, but its pretty strange..
Everything in anim8or works, except the point edit mode..

I cant select anything in editmode..
I have not seen anyone with the same problem..
Can someone help me?


Have you converted you object to a mesh? In object mode go build>convert to mesh and then you can select points in point edit mode.
Yes but it make no difference..
in fact,  the mesh (or the object) stays in smooth view and dont tun into wireframe:P
I cant understand why..
Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: tomekgiz on July 14, 2010, 04:15:28 pm
Hello i'm straniero and mybe i can't read all text
i have one question, i have win 7 pro 32 bit and i can't install anim8or on my system
Can you tell me if i can install anim8or on my system?
or i can install only on the win 7 64 bit?
thanks
Title: Re: Anim8or and Windows 7
Post by: AverageUser on August 21, 2010, 04:16:08 am
BigSprings0069 I have Win-7 64 and tried Raxx solution ( no success )
Then I simply right-clicked my vid card in the device manager and clicked 'Update Drivers'
Anim8or works now.