Anim8or Community

General Category => General Anim8or Forum => Topic started by: ADSohr on May 09, 2010, 01:13:09 am

Title: Anim8or 0.97b lathe
Post by: ADSohr on May 09, 2010, 01:13:09 am
For some reason Anim8or will not let me lathe more that 32 sections, I need 40.

I type "40" in the lathe menu under sections, but it only makes 32 sections in the final product.

It is kind strange, I'm petty sure it has worked before.

Any ideas?

Thanks
Title: Re: Anim8or 0.97b lathe
Post by: ENSONIQ5 on May 09, 2010, 01:49:23 am
32 has always been the maximum.  The best workaround is to lathe with 20 sections and subdivide.
Title: Re: Anim8or 0.97b lathe
Post by: ADSohr on May 09, 2010, 03:14:26 am
Hmm... I wonder why 32?

I'll just do 20 sections, select all of the edge loops and then do cut edges, that will give me the 40 I need without the subdivision smoothing out my mesh that needs to have hard corners, it'll just take a bit of rounding the cut edges to make it circular.

Thanks for the quick answer.  :)
Title: Re: Anim8or 0.97b lathe
Post by: Tof on May 09, 2010, 05:53:05 pm
There is another trick I read on the forum a few months ago and that works good:
Create your object with 20 sections, in point edit mode select all the edges between the sections, select the bevel tool and adjust... done, you get 40 sections! (and you can experiment to use that in other ways, it's really cool)
Hope I explane correctly and this can help.
Title: Re: Anim8or 0.97b lathe
Post by: daniel99 on May 09, 2010, 06:03:12 pm
Hey, you could also use some Shape Scripts for adding extra loops on your mesh

http://www.anim8or.com/smf/index.php?topic=1705.0 (http://www.anim8or.com/smf/index.php?topic=1705.0)
Title: Re: Anim8or 0.97b lathe
Post by: BOB_I_Ts on May 10, 2010, 06:13:29 am
64,32,16,8 its an equation used programmers to match bit rates of hardware processing ! memory