Anim8or Community

General Category => Anim8or v0.98 Discussion Forum => Topic started by: Arik_the_Red on May 17, 2010, 11:03:55 pm

Title: scene render error
Post by: Arik_the_Red on May 17, 2010, 11:03:55 pm
I get the attached scene render error after I go to render a movie, set it up to save, and click the final command to begin rendering.

It seems to occur when I add a second object to the scene. The scene elements include a static/untouched object, and an object that is set to grow and shrink in size as the time moves along. The error does not occur when there is only one object - whether it is just the non-growing or the growing/shrinking object.

The file was created using v97d. I have tried opening the file in 97d, and v96, and the error occurs in both cases. I have tried to re-download v97d, but it still occurs.

Does anyone have a clue as to how to get around this error?
Title: Re: scene render error
Post by: hihosilver on May 18, 2010, 01:21:05 am
Perhaps try creating a new file, import the objects and redo the animation?
That's the best I can do, that's a very odd error.
Title: Re: scene render error
Post by: lynn22 on May 18, 2010, 07:10:41 am
Your screenshot is for Front view, do you render your animation in Camera view ?

Also, have you tried rendering your animation as a series of images instead of an .avi file ?
Title: Re: scene render error
Post by: Kubajzz on May 18, 2010, 01:02:46 pm
I've already seen this error message... It basically means that Anim8or is unable to write data to the avi file because the file is being used by another process.

It usually happens when you abort the render (or when the renderer crashes) and then you retry rendering using the same file name. There is probably a bug in Anim8or, the program still thinks the .avi file is in use although the original rendering session is over.

Using a different file name should help...

Also keep in mind that re-starting the computer solves 90% of all problems ;)
Title: Re: scene render error
Post by: Arik_the_Red on May 18, 2010, 04:00:02 pm
Thanks for the tips. Not sure what happened, but it's not doing it now.
Title: Re: scene render error
Post by: Navek on May 19, 2010, 12:18:24 am
Alright well, I'm pretty sure this isn't the same problem as it's been happening with all my files for a while, and not really sure if i should post this here but i've been having a similar problem. For some reason anim8or won't render AVI files, but i can render a movie as still images and then combine the images, but thats kinda a pain, so if anyone has any suggestions it would be greatly appreciated.
Title: Re: scene render error
Post by: hihosilver on May 19, 2010, 01:06:08 am
I can't say exactly what your issue may be, but have you tried rendering it with different codecs?
Title: Re: scene render error
Post by: Kubajzz on May 19, 2010, 08:56:03 am
I did a little research and didn't find much about this error. Here is the best description I could find:

Quote
The error returned is REGDB_E_CLASSNOTREG. This error means either that the filename doesn't end in ".avi", or the registry doesn't contain an association for the ".avi" extension.

It looks like there is something wrong with your registry or file associations or something. I wish I knew how to fix it...
Title: Re: scene render error
Post by: Navek on May 23, 2010, 04:51:19 am
Thanks for the tips guys! i've tried different codecs but they don't seem to help, my dads a bit of a techie so i'll see if he knows anything about fixing registry errors.
Title: Re: scene render error
Post by: dajean on June 02, 2010, 03:00:57 pm
if is the association, find an avi file right click on it, then click on "open with" and "choose a program" browse to a program that plays avi files (eg windows media) and put a check mark where it says "always use the selected program to open this kind of file", click "ok" and that program gets registered to open this kind of files.

Hope it helps.............
Title: Re: scene render error
Post by: Navek on July 28, 2010, 05:15:57 am
Well, I still haven't found a solution, but thought I'd post my workaround, since others seem to be having the same problem.

Step 1. Do your animation at 32 FPS, and render to JPG files.
Step 2. Open Windows Moviemaker goto Tools -> Options
Step 3. Set Picture duration to 0.125 seconds (the lowest possible)
Step 4. Import your JPG'S
Step 5. Save that as a movie file.
Step 6. Import that movie file.
Step 7. Apply the speed up, double effect twice,

and that should leave you with a video file the same length as you planed, the trick is rendering it at 32 FPS (because of movie makers limited picture duration setting) otherwise the animation won't come out the intended length.
Wish I had a better solution but I hope this helps.
Title: Re: scene render error
Post by: dwsel on July 28, 2010, 03:20:24 pm
...or use whatever framerate, download VirtualDub http://www.virtualdub.org/
Open VirtualDub and select File -> Open video file... -> Image sequence (from the list) and pick the first from your JPGs.
Select Video -> Frame Rate -> Change frame rate to (fps): and enter in the box your frame rate. It should match the framerate from your animation, but it can be whatever number too: 25fps, 30 fps, 50fps (like it was in my blender animation) or fractional like 103.83578457 :P
Then select codec (Video -> Compression) and File -> Save as AVI...

I hardly ever render animations to *.avi, mostly I render to uncompressed *.bmp, join them into *.avi in VirtualDub and after that keep *.bmp frames or uncompressed *.avi in the *.zip archive.
Title: Re: scene render error
Post by: Arik_the_Red on July 29, 2010, 04:28:06 am
Thanks for that advice, guys... for what ever reason, the error hasn't reoccured.

Other than "avoiding the error". is there a significant reason to render video by creating the jpgs and such, and bringing them back together in that way?
Title: Re: scene render error
Post by: dwsel on July 29, 2010, 07:58:20 pm
Distributed rendering? And The Big Companies are doing the same? hehe :D

I can render different parts of animation on several computers (or cores of the same computer) at the same time - which part - it's only to my liking. I write on the paper ranges of frames to be rendered on each computer and don't care about the crashes or loading computers with additional work (stopped or slowed down rendering). Then I put the frames together in one folder and check if there's no holes, then I assign to rendering missing frames and after rendering again I'm putting all frames together on single computer in one folder. After the thing is finished I simply join them to *.avi.
Title: Re: scene render error
Post by: Arik_the_Red on July 30, 2010, 03:00:39 am
Gotcha! I don't know why I even asked except I was only semi-conscious at the time ;)

Thanks for replying with the obvious answer and spelling it out patiently for those that may not have that in their mind  ;)
Title: Re: scene render error
Post by: davdud101 on April 22, 2011, 07:07:42 am
About that error, the only time I've ever had that problem was when I tried to render a file with the same name as an existing file.
Title: Re: scene render error
Post by: davdud101 on July 05, 2012, 03:58:14 am
cello95's point is valid- The image isn't anywhere NEAR as compressed (physically, doesn't really appear) as when it's an AVI, plus you can do sweet stuff in frame-by-frames, like muzzle flashes.
I personally prefer rendering out as a large (720p or 1080p) .avi file, since I generally don't find too many problems working with a slightly compressed video where I don't have to combine frame-to-frame in post.

Edit:
And @ dwsel: That actually works?!?!? I've never put my mind to giving it a try... I have 4 cores, and I haven't honestly thought that each one could render a section at the same time! It's brilliant, and I'll definetly keep it in mind for my upcoming works.