Anim8or Community

General Category => General Anim8or Forum => Topic started by: Blick Fang on January 30, 2013, 09:49:26 pm

Title: Using a 2D pic in Anim8or for model
Post by: Blick Fang on January 30, 2013, 09:49:26 pm
Hello!

I have seen an example but I forgot where!  I want to bring a 2D pic (2 actually front view and side view) of my 2D character and I want to model him in anim8or.  Does anybody know where that tute is/was?

Thanks!
Title: Re: Using a 2D pic in Anim8or for model
Post by: cooldude234 on January 30, 2013, 11:48:41 pm
Do you mean you want to add a reference image?
To do that you go into object mode -> build -> add reference image. The image will be aligned in the direction that the camera is facing when you add the image.
Title: Re: Using a 2D pic in Anim8or for model
Post by: Blick Fang on January 31, 2013, 03:21:08 pm
Thanks cooldude!!!!
Title: Re: Using a 2D pic in Anim8or for model
Post by: lppena on February 01, 2013, 09:15:09 am
Very cool thanks for posting.
Title: Re: Using a 2D pic in Anim8or for model
Post by: skyfall123 on March 07, 2013, 12:44:08 am
Can you kindly please tell me how you do that?
Title: Re: Using a 2D pic in Anim8or for model
Post by: cooldude234 on March 07, 2013, 10:55:30 pm
what do you mean? I already did do that.
Title: Re: Using a 2D pic in Anim8or for model
Post by: skyfall123 on March 08, 2013, 01:04:40 am
I mean how you add the reference image, as when i try in object mode, I canot see my 2d image.
Title: Re: Using a 2D pic in Anim8or for model
Post by: cooldude234 on March 08, 2013, 02:46:13 pm
Quote
Do you mean you want to add a reference image?
To do that you go into object mode -> build -> add reference image. The image will be aligned in the direction that the camera is facing when you add the image.
That's how you add a reference image. If you cannot see it then there are other things that are involved here, did you make sure you have your preferences setup to view textures, that you loaded up a compatible image format (it should tell you it was an incompatible image, i just checked). Please give more technical details.
Title: Re: Using a 2D pic in Anim8or for model
Post by: kreator on March 08, 2013, 03:33:48 pm
cooldude: Perhaps Skyfall is looking at it from the wrong aspect? If you are in front view when you load it, it will display,  if you are side or top view then it won`t show, only the bounding box.

If you intend to use point edit mode to trace the outline make sure you move the 2D image back in top view otherwise you will not see any points being laid down, when you are in front view.

New users should do a search for these sorts of questions I`m sure that the subject of Ref images has been covered elsewhere many many times!

example no sound though!!
Title: Re: Using a 2D pic in Anim8or for model
Post by: cooldude234 on March 09, 2013, 12:28:34 am
Ah yes, I seem to have over looked that, I blame it on how tired I am today :P
Title: Re: Using a 2D pic in Anim8or for model
Post by: skyfall123 on March 09, 2013, 07:57:24 am
Thanks. kreator.

Can I ask another question?
Let's say I have done the reference image in object mode.
Now in the Scene mode, Front view, I try to import reference image to the scene. Build> Add Object.
However the image become a white bounding box. (No image been shown).
Any idea? Am I doing something wrong?
Title: Re: Using a 2D pic in Anim8or for model
Post by: Raxx on March 09, 2013, 09:45:32 am
Reference images can only be viewed in the Object Editor, as a modeling reference. Otherwise load it up as a texture on a plane if you wish to see a 2D image in any of the other editors. (If all you want is a background image, the scene editor has that feature in Settings->Environment)

I suggest you use the manual (http://anim8or.com/manual/) or forum search (http://www.anim8or.com/smf/index.php?action=search) to figure basic stuff like this out. You'll learn more from it and also get your answers faster.
Title: Re: Using a 2D pic in Anim8or for model
Post by: skyfall123 on March 09, 2013, 02:31:31 pm
OK. Thanks Raxx...