Anim8or Community

Artwork => Finished Works and Works in Progress => Topic started by: Anim8er on March 29, 2008, 11:41:16 pm

Title: My first model (Head)
Post by: Anim8er on March 29, 2008, 11:41:16 pm
Hi,

Here the verry first true model that I made.  It's a simple head.  I have bigs problems with the Subdivision.  I use a million polygons!  Look by yourselfs!  ;D

(http://img228.imageshack.us/img228/2723/headjm4.png)

So?  The nose is well done I think.  The ears a little too.  I should change this dar* problem now.

I did another one, but, now... Careful, yours eyes will probably....

(http://img504.imageshack.us/img504/7741/head2yd2.png)

 ;D

Thanks for yours coments,

Title: Re: My first model (Head)
Post by: 3D Joe Wiltshire on March 30, 2008, 12:11:45 am
nice head shapes, looks a bit like a mii, but yeah, you've got a problem with the ammount of faces, i don't know how you can reduce the ammount of faces really, but someone more knowledgeable will probably know
Title: Re: My first model (Head)
Post by: RnDr FOX on March 30, 2008, 12:18:56 am
What i would do is double click on the model and increse the smooth angle. This cut down on faces alot and I still had a smooth model the only thing is that it wont be as smooth as if you subdivided.
Title: Re: My first model (Head)
Post by: Tanzim on March 30, 2008, 12:52:03 am
When you made that did you Build-> Subdivide or Subdivide Faces
If you just Subdivided you can double click on the mesh and set the Working->Divisions to 0 or 1, but if you Subdivided Faces you have a problem
Title: Re: My first model (Head)
Post by: Anim8er on March 30, 2008, 01:43:59 pm
I try it, it's changing a little but it's not enought to have a great model.  I think the best solution is to start over.  I should just know how I can add faces and... edges. I read the french manual, and reread this section but it's hard to understand.
Title: Re: My first model (Head)
Post by: spicy on March 30, 2008, 07:22:28 pm
good first try, but too many faces. you must of subdivided loads of times (Or subdivided faces). Though better what I did when I first tried to make a face!
Title: Re: My first model (Head)
Post by: hihosilver on March 30, 2008, 08:46:41 pm
With subdivision objects, you can give the model a higher subdivision level or you can go back to the base model.  To do this you double click the model and change the 'working' value.  You can input an integer from 0-4.  4 being the highest level of subdivision and 0 being the base model.  So if you're going to convert to mesh, it's best to go back to the base model first.  It seems one of the reasons that you're subdividing more is to texture the model.  This is best done by either dragging around the original vertices, or actually UV map the model and use textures on it.
Title: Re: My first model (Head)
Post by: im not a people person73 on March 31, 2008, 11:04:59 am
or,you can sit there for two hours drag select 2-4 faces>merge faces (shift + M) over and over and over again,evenly next to each other until you have what your going for...well, thats what i do...