Anim8or Community

General Category => General Anim8or Forum => Topic started by: CoriDavis on June 10, 2014, 06:00:13 pm

Title: My Anim8or is Bugging Out
Post by: CoriDavis on June 10, 2014, 06:00:13 pm
Hey guys. I'm back because I had some ideas for a (somewhat new) Youtube show that will probably be using Anim8or. Right now I'm working on remaking my logo since I can see how dumb it looks being so old. I've redesigned it completely since then:
(http://th04.deviantart.net/fs71/150/i/2014/160/a/b/logo_design_prototype_2_by_anscathmarcach-d7lochw.png)

Anyway... to the point. Everything was going fine until I tried to add a panorama background in Scene editor. First I was using the 1088 version just to try it out and I thought that was the problem, so I tried the 0.97d version I had laying around, and had pretty much the same problem.

When loading a panorama image in 1088, I would select the file and it would return to the screen as normal, only it would stop responding as if it were loading and stayed that way. I tried again and it said My Pictures was empty. What!? So I checked it and it's clearly not. I decided to restart the program and had the same results.

In 0.97d, I load and select my panorama image and it stops responding the same way:
(http://i.imgur.com/a82wX8t.png)

Then when it finally loads, the File section remains blank with no filename. I click Ok, and there is an image, but it's all white. Even weirder, after this point, I can no longer take screenshots while in the window! How is that even possible!

Trying to load the image again shows My Pictures being empty

When trying to render the scene, it shows all the "save image" buttons and all that, but the scene editor view stays visible where the render should be and I cannot save the render

When trying to save the file, I can only see the filenames with no thumbnails

When trying to leave scene editor, Anim8or stops responding for a while and eventually shows the respective mode's toolbars while still showing the scene editor's screen.

I have absolutely no idea what's going on. The panorama image in question is attached in case it has something to do with that particular image.
Title: Re: My Anim8or is Bugging Out
Post by: Steve on June 10, 2014, 08:50:38 pm
I'll take a look at it when I'm back, Corina visit. But that won't be until August :-( Sorry about the problems you're having!

Steve
Title: Re: My Anim8or is Bugging Out
Post by: CoriDavis on June 10, 2014, 10:59:25 pm
UPDATE: It appears that the issue is indeed with the image itself. I just tried to make my own panorama with an object and when I tried to load my image, the problem happens again. This time when I try to load the image, it freezes, comes back, and the image name doesn't even show up in the list. This time I was finally able to screenshot what happens when I try to load the image a second time:

(http://i.imgur.com/oQAq89L.png)

Is there an image size limit or a file size limit? What about a folder depth limit? It is under a lot of folders.
Title: Re: My Anim8or is Bugging Out
Post by: ENSONIQ5 on June 11, 2014, 08:15:09 am
If it helps to diagnose the issue, or at least eliminate possibilities, I have successfully loaded a 75MB BMP file as a panoramic background in V0.98.  Also, if you haven't already done so, check your compatibility settings.  I have found Anim8or runs best in XP Service Pack 2 mode with 'Disable desktop composition' checked and running as an administrator.
Title: Re: My Anim8or is Bugging Out
Post by: Raxx on June 11, 2014, 09:01:53 am
It seems that large "Progressive" type JPEGs are the culprit...or at least Anim8or doesn't like it.

Through testing, I've determined that any images of width and/or height greater than 4088 pixels, saved as "Progressive" (tested in both Gimp and Photoshop), fails to load in Anim8or.

So, your solution CoriDavis, is to uncheck "Progressive" in the advanced export options in Gimp. Photoshop should have this disabled by default.
Title: Re: My Anim8or is Bugging Out
Post by: thecolclough on June 11, 2014, 05:48:11 pm
...any images of width and/or height greater than 4088 pixels...

4088?  Seems a funny number for the limit to be set at.  I seem to remember there is/was some kind of ceiling (for render resolutions, i think) at 4096px, as that's a binary power, but i'm not aware of any other significance to 4088.  Could just be me being wrong, of course, but thought it might be worth a double-check...  :o
Title: Re: My Anim8or is Bugging Out
Post by: CoriDavis on June 11, 2014, 05:52:41 pm
Progressive was the problem. Thanks!

(http://i.imgur.com/st0cx95.png)
Title: Re: My Anim8or is Bugging Out
Post by: Raxx on June 11, 2014, 06:05:48 pm
Glad it worked.

thecolclough, images of 4089 or greater width and/or height do not load.

[edit] Progressive jpegs ^^
Title: Re: My Anim8or is Bugging Out
Post by: CoriDavis on June 11, 2014, 06:11:34 pm
The width of my image is 6000 though and it loaded fine, or is that under certain circumstances?
Title: Re: My Anim8or is Bugging Out
Post by: Raxx on June 11, 2014, 06:12:55 pm
Sorry, I meant progressive jpegs, not just images in general.
Title: Re: My Anim8or is Bugging Out
Post by: CoriDavis on June 11, 2014, 07:28:04 pm
Oh, I missed that part. Sorry