Anim8or Community

General Category => General Anim8or Forum => Topic started by: RnDr FOX on January 02, 2008, 03:25:25 am

Title: If cavemen can do it why cant I?
Post by: RnDr FOX on January 02, 2008, 03:25:25 am
I need help, I have been trying to make fire using anim8or and Terr8. I just cant do it. I have looked at all the torturials on both websites and have came up with nothing. What is this fire plugin people are talking about? I hate to ask for alot but can someone make a detailed tutorial for me or just a video? -Thanks alot.  (P.S pics would be nice)
Title: Re: If cavemen can do it why cant I?
Post by: kreator on January 02, 2008, 03:36:12 pm
you must have new terranim8or which loads in the project first, then you need to download the plugins for fire, explosion etc ...they are on Leslies site

... then just have one plugin in the plugin directory ... which will be fire in your case as you are making it .

...if you have more than the one then terranim8or will promptly crash!

once your project is loaded ,exeute the plugin and type in your parameters....if its going you`ll see it working in the bottom left corner once finished you can check that the fire is there as you will find a tanfiretarget in tour object list move this about to control where the fire should be.

you wo`t see anything until rendered and you may have to mess about with the tanfireobject in the textures as sometimes its not visible!

I have no problems doing any of leslies excellent plugins!
Title: Re: If cavemen can do it why cant I?
Post by: RnDr FOX on January 02, 2008, 04:37:41 pm
What is the plugin directery and how do you put a plugin in on it?
Title: Re: If cavemen can do it why cant I?
Post by: RnDr FOX on January 02, 2008, 04:47:24 pm
Also where can it be located in Terr8. Is it under config? When I downloaded the fire plugin in it says fire.t8n not .exe so how do you work plugins?
Title: Re: If cavemen can do it why cant I?
Post by: kreator on January 02, 2008, 08:55:42 pm
You have to make a directory where your terranim8or file is, called plugins and place the plugins into that directory,
you access the plugin from the topmemubar ...it says plugins
Title: Re: If cavemen can do it why cant I?
Post by: RnDr FOX on January 02, 2008, 09:41:02 pm
Thanks alot for your help my fire look great, one more question though what numbers do you use for your fire material like color emmisive and so on. 
Title: Re: If cavemen can do it why cant I?
Post by: kreator on January 02, 2008, 11:08:17 pm
I leave the settings as they are trans 1/as the texture trans is set to 2
Title: Re: If cavemen can do it why cant I?
Post by: CydoniaKnight on January 03, 2008, 11:46:07 pm
I loved your thread title... very clever.
BUT... cavemen didn't use software to make their fire...
Title: Re: If cavemen can do it why cant I?
Post by: RnDr FOX on January 04, 2008, 02:55:33 am
Yea I know but at least it caught some peoples attetion.