Anim8or Community

General Category => General Anim8or Forum => Topic started by: argo34116 on August 31, 2016, 04:31:53 am

Title: Export as .cmod problem
Post by: argo34116 on August 31, 2016, 04:31:53 am
I have been working with a model of a star trek nebula class starship in anim8or. I had to convert it from lwo to obj. When I export as .cmod and view it in Celestia the top part of the saucer section is transparent. This does not happen when I use it as .3ds though. I have done work with both flipping normals and fixing normals with no luck. Does anyone here have a idea of what maybe wrong and how to correct this? I want to use it as a cmod because the glow from the nacelles and bussard collectors are more apparent as a .cmod.

Also anim8or does have the capability to import .lwo, but most of the time I get an error message stating that "LWO object is missing" Does anyone here know why this happens and how to correct it if possible ?

Thank you everyone for your help with other issues I have brought to this forum. I have learned a great deal from all of you.
Title: Re: Export as .cmod problem
Post by: selden on August 31, 2016, 10:12:28 am
What type of surface texture image are you using?
Transparency is also provided if you're using a 32 bit PNG image: one which includes an Alpha (opacity) channel. If that's the cause, you can eliminate that effect by converting the 32 bit PNG image either to a 24 bit PNG (which does not include an Alpha channel) or to an image in JPG format, which also does not support transparency.

What version of Anim8or are you using?
There are at least two different .LWO model formats. Anim8or only understands the older version. Recent versions of Anim8or provide a better error message when they try to load a format that they don't recognize.
Title: Re: Export as .cmod problem
Post by: argo34116 on September 02, 2016, 11:41:40 am
using jpg, but had to convert from png to jpg to use them in anim8or. My version is 4.2.11481.
Title: Re: Export as .cmod problem
Post by: selden on September 02, 2016, 12:19:42 pm
Another possibility would be a typo in the image texture file's name, either in the model or in the SSC catalog file. Celestia has a variety of different symptoms when it can't find a texture file.

If that's not it, I dunno what might be causing the problem. You'll have to provide example model files, both .an8 and .cmod, including the textures. It probably would be appropriate to provide a zip of the relevant addon directory.
Title: Re: Export as .cmod problem
Post by: argo34116 on September 03, 2016, 05:39:54 am
For some reason I cannot do the attachments here. I will send to you via email.