Anim8or Community

General Category => General Anim8or Forum => Topic started by: wolfsong73 on September 14, 2016, 05:57:48 pm

Title: Move tool bugged?
Post by: wolfsong73 on September 14, 2016, 05:57:48 pm
Hello,

So, this is my third attempt at posting this; hopefully it goes through this time!

In a nutshell, I'm noticing odd behavior using the move tool in AN8. Basically, it seems like the movement ignores what axis I have locked or unlocked. If I have only Y selected, for example, it'll move in Z. If I have Z enabled, it'll move in Y. Also, the behavior seems to change depending on whether you have world, object or screen space active.

Best way to illustrate this is with a short video I recorded earlier... You'll notice X is the only axis that seems to work right. Y and Z seem to be swapped.

Here's the video (https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/53548203/Anim8or/Movement.wmv)


Edit: Yay it posted this time! Cool!
Title: Re: Move tool bugged?
Post by: Steve on September 14, 2016, 09:32:07 pm
wolfsong73: This is on purpose.  I thought it would be more useful to move around on the ground plane with the LMB, and up and down with the RMB.
Title: Re: Move tool bugged?
Post by: wolfsong73 on September 14, 2016, 10:40:39 pm
wolfsong73: This is on purpose.  I thought it would be more useful to move around on the ground plane with the LMB, and up and down with the RMB.

Hiya, Steve.

Yeah, I noticed that. The RMB makes sense. But why would it be moving, with the LMB, along the Y axis if I have 'Z' locked, and vice versa? That's what's throwing me off.

If I have the Z button highlighted, shouldn't it be moving along the Z axis, and likewise along Y if I have the Y button highlighted?
Title: Re: Move tool bugged?
Post by: Steve on September 15, 2016, 02:57:46 am
OK I see what you mean now.