Anim8or Community

General Category => General Anim8or Forum => Topic started by: Pixie3D on April 17, 2017, 05:42:09 pm

Title: Pixie3D
Post by: Pixie3D on April 17, 2017, 05:42:09 pm
Hi,

As much as I like and have enjoyed using Anim8or, I thought it might would be of interest for other Anim8or users to try out a new upcoming 3D software. Go to www.pixie3d.com and download Pixie3D.

In case you do not know, Pixie3D is a software I have written in my spare time.

I hope the software will be able to help indie game developers, 3D artists and 3D enthusiasts to create assets for their projects. The beta version allows you to create and export polygon models for games engines like Unity3D 5 and Unreal Engine 4. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me and I will try to answer them as quickly as possible.

For years I have been admiring Steve for single-handedly creating Anim8or and he has been a massive inspiration for me, so it would be brilliant to hear Steve's opinion on Pixie3D at some point :-)

Kind regards,
Soren
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: davdud101 on April 17, 2017, 11:18:43 pm
Skal prÝve den ik.... whoops, wrong language.
I'll give it a shot tonight. Looks pretty nice
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: Trevor on April 18, 2017, 10:36:46 am
You have quite a wasteful modeling technique if you are gearing pixie toward Games.
Just because PC's and consoles have more memory and CPU power, doesn't mean modelers (or their tools) should be lazy.:P

The car did utilise most of the grid, but the house, I could have 1/2 the number of triangles used there just by getting rid of the grid.

As for the fact you are advertising competition software (and not using it as a feature request demo) I do not see any advantage over an8 here. You say it exports to unity, but An8 also exports to "Wavefront OBJ" which is all your doing, then using separate software to import obj and export unity file.

This of course is all my opinion, at least its another piece of free software :)

Trev
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: Pixie3D on April 18, 2017, 05:14:24 pm
I'll give it a

Skal prÝve den ik.... whoops, wrong language.
 I'll give it a shot tonight. Looks pretty nice

Hej med dig og mange tak!  :)

Hi Trev,

You have quite a wasteful modeling technique if you are gearing pixie toward Games.
Just because PC's and consoles have more memory and CPU power, doesn't mean modelers (or their tools) should be lazy.:P

The car did utilise most of the grid, but the house, I could have 1/2 the number of triangles used there just by getting rid of the grid.

Not sure if I fully understand you, so please correct me if I am wrong. I assume you are referring to the video on my website? I know it might not be obvious until you have tried the software for yourself but the grid you can see in the video is just a helper grid (a ruler or guideline if you will). The grid is not actually a physical object, so if you export the scene the grid will not be exported. The grid can easily be hidden/displayed for each view individually  in case you do not like using it. This is a very common modelling feature in the industry. Keep in mind, the purpose of the video was to demonstrate how to do polygon modelling in Pixie3D - The scene that was being created in the video was not necessarily designed for a game.

As for the fact you are advertising competition software (and not using it as a feature request demo) I do not see any advantage over an8 here.

I do not see Anim8or and Pixie3D as competitors, I just see it as Steve has made an amazing 3D software and I have been inspired by Steve and made my own 3D software. The interface and features in my software follows the industry standard so Pixie3D is by nature not as original as Anim8or is, however, because of that I think it will be easier to jump to a commercial 3D software once you have got used to use Pixie3D - in case that would be of your interest.  :D

You say it exports to unity, but An8 also exports to "Wavefront OBJ" which is all your doing, then using separate software to import obj and export unity file.

Yes, you are absolutely right, there is nothing more to it than that.

Thank you for your interest in my software.  :)
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: davdud101 on April 18, 2017, 10:27:57 pm
As for the fact you are advertising competition software (and not using it as a feature request demo) I do not see any advantage over an8 here.

This is a good idea, though. Perhaps making the software open-source so people who know how to program can implement ideas for feature requests.
I am curious, P3D - where do you wanna go with this?
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: nemyax on April 19, 2017, 12:16:16 pm
It's still a very rough and basic program, but it does some things nicely.

The interface and features in my software follows the industry standard
But you're only really making it look like 3ds max, aren't you. Saying that the industry has a standard for these things is a bit of a stretch.
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: Pixie3D on April 19, 2017, 01:12:39 pm
As for the fact you are advertising competition software (and not using it as a feature request demo) I do not see any advantage over an8 here.

This is a good idea, though. Perhaps making the software open-source so people who know how to program can implement ideas for feature requests.
I am curious, P3D - where do you wanna go with this?

The idea with Pixie3D is simply to make an easy to use 3D Software. At the moment I am not considering Open-Source.

It's still a very rough and basic program, but it does some things nicely.

The interface and features in my software follows the industry standard
But you're only really making it look like 3ds max, aren't you. Saying that the industry has a standard for these things is a bit of a stretch.

Thank you for the feedback. Yes, you are right Pixie3D is leaning towards 3D Studio Max in design and workflow, as far as I am aware 3D Studio Max has had the biggest user base for many years so I have been considering it as being the leading 3D software in the industry but of course I could be wrong.
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: Sluggs on April 19, 2017, 03:53:18 pm
Anim8or's my bitch and I'm faithful to her, so ner!
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: davdud101 on April 19, 2017, 06:53:46 pm
Hehe, fair amount of polarization here...
Any more reviews though?
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: Pixie3D on July 24, 2017, 09:53:38 am
For anyone interested Pixie3D has been updated.
If you have downloaded a previous version of Pixie3D, you can use the built-in update system or you can simply go to http://www.pixie3d.com and download the new version.
I hope you will enjoy the new additions.

Kind regards,
Soren
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: tralfaz on July 27, 2017, 12:50:00 pm
Just tried to run this software on a Windows 10 PC and got the following system error:

"The code execution cannot proceed because VCRUNTIME140.dll was
 not found.  Reinstalling the program may fix this problem."
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: Pixie3D on July 28, 2017, 08:48:24 am
I suggest you to download and install Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2015 and check if it resolves the issue.

You can download it from Microsoft here: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=52685
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: tralfaz on July 31, 2017, 06:21:51 pm
Downloaded the Visual Studio 2015 redistributables and installed them on my PC at work.  Does it matter that I am running 64bit Windows?

Anyway, got the same error.  Verified the Windows/System32 folder was in my path.

Tried copying the VCRUN140.dll and all other *140*.dll files into my Pixie 3D folder on my thumb drive and now get a message about the program not starting correctly and exits.
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: TanatOS on July 31, 2017, 10:15:08 pm
Very nice...
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: Pixie3D on August 01, 2017, 09:59:33 am
It looks like your graphics card does not support shader model 3.0
All that means is that you will not see the PBR shaders correctly in your viewports.
You should still be able to use the software for 3D modelling.
Do you mind if I ask you what graphics card you have installed?
You should be able to get this information from the About dialog (last button on your right in the main menu).

Thanks
Soren
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: tralfaz on August 01, 2017, 12:40:39 pm
Actually, the software doesn't run at all.  As soon as I clear the error window, everything closes.

At work, I use an HP desktop computer and it has an Intel HD Graphics 4600 adapter in it.  It is an i7 with 16GB ram, so that shouldn't be an issue.
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: Pixie3D on August 01, 2017, 01:27:02 pm
Hi tralfaz,

That is interesting. The downloadable version of Pixie3D is a 34-bit exe but I run it on a 64-bit Windows 10 machine without any issues. Could you go to https://pixie3d.com/contact.php and enter a brief comment, your full name and email address (so I can find you in my email account and reply to you) then I will send you a new version of Pixie3D, you can try out. Hopefully that one will work. Thank you for your patience.

Kind regards,
Soren
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: 3dview on August 02, 2017, 10:09:40 am
I also cannot run the programme, I get the same error message that VCRUNTIME140.DLL is not on the computer but when I do a search it is there, the programme shuts down.
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: Pixie3D on August 02, 2017, 02:14:52 pm
3dview,

Thank you for getting in touch.
I realized I have pointed to a wrong redistributable download.
Could you download Microsoft Visual C++ 2017 redistributable files at this link (very last section): https://www.visualstudio.com/downloads/

If this does not work could you go to https://pixie3d.com/contact.php and enter a brief comment, your full name and email address (so I can find you in my email account and reply to you) then I will send you a new version of Pixie3D, you can try out. Hopefully that one will work.

Thank you for your patience.

Kind regards,
Soren
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: Gyperboloid on August 02, 2017, 04:22:02 pm
Downloaded, gave it a try. Everything worked just fine. Windows 8.1 NVIDIDA GeForce GT 730M Intel i-5 3230M 2.6GHz ( 3.6GHz)
Tried to render anything, but didn't find the way to do so. Is the renderer available inside the program?
Anyway, good luck with your work!
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: Pixie3D on August 02, 2017, 07:14:44 pm
So good to hear it worked for you Gyperboloid. The renderer is not ready yet so that is why it is not available ready, however the full version of Pixie3D will be released with a renderer. In fact there are plenty of features which is not public yet, either because they are not fully developed or fully tested yet. These features are IK, key frame animation system, paths for path-modelling, true-type text fonts, particles, cameras, lights, metballs, physics and a lot of other modifiers.

If you have any suggestions or any feedback please leave a me comment at https://pixie3d.com/contact.php

Kind regards,
Soren
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: TanatOS on August 03, 2017, 07:21:58 pm
It looks like your graphics card does not support shader model 3.0
...
Do you mind if I ask you what graphics card you have installed?
You should be able to get this information from the About dialog (last button on your right in the main menu).
This is joke? First screenshot (http://www.anim8or.com/smf/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=5511.0;attach=14557;image) show console window from you software with information about graphic card. It much newer then 2004 and support higher shader model.
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: Pixie3D on August 04, 2017, 06:37:08 am
Hi TanatOS,

When the message pops up on your screen you will be given an option to see technical debug information, could you send a screen shot of that debug information to info@Pixie3D.com by any chance? That will help me identify exactly what went wrong.

Thanks,
Soren
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: selden on August 04, 2017, 11:11:37 am
While it's initializing, Pixie3 opens a network connection to the IP address 46.30.213.255.

Why?

If it can't open the link, it hangs at the 71% point.

Network connections should not be made without the permission of the user and software should continue to work even if they fail.

See the attached screengrab.



Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: Pixie3D on August 04, 2017, 11:56:19 am
Hi selden,

At some point when Pixie3D is loading up, it will try to reach my server to check for new updates. I don't think that is the reason why it hangs at that point, keep in mind that some components takes longer time to load up than others and I have noticed that it has always taken a little longer time to load components around 70% - I think around that point is where the main interface is being created. However, you do not have to be online to run Pixie3D. If it does not find any Internet connections it will simply carry on loading. I hope that answers your concerns.

Kind regards,
Soren
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: Blick Fang on August 04, 2017, 03:52:21 pm
Anybody else find this thread a little odd?
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: RudySchneider on August 04, 2017, 04:43:11 pm
Anybody else find this thread a little odd?

Odd?  In what way?  If you mean that "This is the Anim8or Forum, and how dare anyone speak of anything else!", then no.  After all, a handyman has a whole set of tools at his disposal to do his job --- hammers, nails, screwdrivers, wrenches, saws, chisels, wood, metal, torches, wire, twine, glue, duct tape, etc.  He certainly doesn't need all of these tools for each and every task he must accomplish, but it helps to know what each tool is and how it can help him accomplish the task at hand.  And sometimes it's helpful to know if he can substitute one tool for another.

It's no different for 2D or 3D graphics composition.  I would venture that every professional graphics designer or animator does not rely solely on one program. 

And even more importantly, information exchange --- regardless of how relevant it may seem at the time --- helps spawn new ideas.
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: selden on August 04, 2017, 07:14:22 pm
Hi selden,

At some point when Pixie3D is loading up, it will try to reach my server to check for new updates.
It'd be nice if it only did that when one opens the Help -> About menu.
Quote
I don't think that is the reason why it hangs at that point, keep in mind that some components takes longer time to load up than others and I have noticed that it has always taken a little longer time to load components around 70% - I think around that point is where the main interface is being created.

I must have let it sit for at least 20 minutes and it didn't progress past that point, which is why I assumed it was related to the network connection (which Commodo had blocked).
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: Pixie3D on August 05, 2017, 08:30:40 am
Hi selden,

I must point out that you are the first who brush on this subject. It is quite common that a software is checking for updates at the start up, just take the VLC media player. However, I am happy to add an option that will prevent automatic check for updates to the system settings, so you will have a chance to control this behaviour. I will see if I can get time to add it for next update.

20 minutes sounds very excessive, it sounds to me a 3rd party software is preventing Pixie3D to continue after that point, perhaps a firewall or security software you have installed?

Kind regards,
Soren
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: selden on August 05, 2017, 11:05:12 am
Soren,

When I ran Pixie3D again, it managed to get past the 71% point. Unfortunately, it's now complaining that my graphics hardware doesn't support the necessary high level shaders (which I suspect might be incorrect), then it crashed when I asked for the debug info.

FWIW, here's what it says in its initial command window:

Starting Pixie3D...
Multi Sample Successfully Supported!
OpenGL has been enabled!
Graphics Card: NVS 3100M/PCIe/SSE2
Max Modelview Stack Depth: 32
Max Projection Stack Depth: 4
Max Texture Stack Depth: 10
Max Texture Units: 32
Max Texture Size: 8192
Max AntiAliasing Samples: 4
Max Clip Planes: 0

==========

I then ran Pixie3D again and did not ask for debug info. It opened a 3D presentation window and I could click on its buttons. However, although the various "create object" buttons highlighted when clicked on, no objects appeared in the window.

Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: davdud101 on August 06, 2017, 11:51:31 pm
Anybody else find this thread a little odd?

Odd?  In what way?  If you mean that "This is the Anim8or Forum, and how dare anyone speak of anything else!", then no.  After all, a handyman has a whole set of tools at his disposal to do his job --- hammers, nails, screwdrivers, wrenches, saws, chisels, wood, metal, torches, wire, twine, glue, duct tape, etc.  He certainly doesn't need all of these tools for each and every task he must accomplish, but it helps to know what each tool is and how it can help him accomplish the task at hand.  And sometimes it's helpful to know if he can substitute one tool for another.

It's no different for 2D or 3D graphics composition.  I would venture that every professional graphics designer or animator does not rely solely on one program. 

And even more importantly, information exchange --- regardless of how relevant it may seem at the time --- helps spawn new ideas.



I appreciate this post, Rudy! I'm a pretty hardcore Cakewalk SONAR and Sibelius user, but every once in a while I crack open Audacity to do some quicker demoing, or MuseScore where I don't have Sibelius installed. It's just different tools that make different types of jobs easier in some cases.
As a musician, I can also attest to this in saying that I wouldn't use an orchestral trombone when playing lead on a big band gig.

They're all just tools!
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: Pixie3D on August 07, 2017, 09:41:32 am
Hi selden,

Thank you for letting me know about the issues you had with your graphics card.

Try have a look at some of videos on my website, there should be some that shows how to create primitives in your viewport, it is not as simple as activate the create buttons, you will need to define the primitives in your viewport. I am working on a "Get started with Pixie3D" video, that one might help you use Pixie3D. I am hoping I will finish this video and upload it to YouTube at some point this week. I will keep you posted.
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: Pixie3D on August 11, 2017, 07:19:53 pm
Just let you guys know, I have uploaded a 'Get started with Pixie3D' video that hopefully will help you guys.

&t=335s[/youtube]

Let me know what you guys think.
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: neirao on August 12, 2017, 03:20:18 pm
Download links no work here! :(
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: lppena on August 13, 2017, 07:41:54 am
Sweet! Nice video and I have started following the development of the modeler. I mostly use another 3d modeler, but I love the simple nature of Pixie3d.
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: Pixie3D on August 25, 2017, 08:16:00 am
Sweet! Nice video and I have started following the development of the modeler. I mostly use another 3d modeler, but I love the simple nature of Pixie3d.
Thank you Ippena.

There is a new update available for Pixie3D. This update should sort the vcruntime140.dll issue and a some internal issues as well.

Kind regards,
Soren
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: 3dview on August 25, 2017, 11:04:58 am
Sweet! Nice video and I have started following the development of the modeler. I mostly use another 3d modeler, but I love the simple nature of Pixie3d.
Thank you Ippena.

There is a new update available for Pixie3D. This update should sort the vcruntime140.dll issue and a some internal issues as well.

Kind regards,
Soren


No good, still getting the vcruntime140.dll error message and the program fails to start.
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: Pixie3D on August 25, 2017, 01:14:01 pm
No good, still getting the vcruntime140.dll error message and the program fails to start.

Thank you for trying again.

Interesting, I tested it on a clean tablet and I did not get the vcruntime140.dll.

However, I have noticed that tablets cannot run the software due to the hardware, are you trying to run Pixie3D on a tablet by any chance?
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: 3dview on August 26, 2017, 10:20:11 am
No good, still getting the vcruntime140.dll error message and the program fails to start.

Thank you for trying again.

Interesting, I tested it on a clean tablet and I did not get the vcruntime140.dll.

However, I have noticed that tablets cannot run the software due to the hardware, are you trying to run Pixie3D on a tablet by any chance?


  No, I am trying to run it on my desktop PC running Win 8.1.

I will try it on my Laptop running Win10.

Put it on my Laptop and got an immediate error, saying "Failed to Launch Pixie 3d" and shut down.
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: Pixie3D on August 26, 2017, 03:24:29 pm
Thank you for letting me know.

The reason why this error message appears is because it cannot find any entry point for Pixie3D.dll
Could you check if Pixie3D.dll exists in the extracted folder? and that you have extracted all files to the same folder.
Also check if you may have an aggressive anti-virus software which is deleting Pixie3D.dll?
If so make sure you allow Pixie3D to run on your system without any interfering.

I am very interested to know the reason why you have issues with running Pixie3D
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: lppena on August 27, 2017, 08:19:42 am
Thank you for letting me know.

The reason why this error message appears is because it cannot find any entry point for Pixie3D.dll
Could you check if Pixie3D.dll exists in the extracted folder? and that you have extracted all files to the same folder.
Also check if you may have an aggressive anti-virus software which is deleting Pixie3D.dll?
If so make sure you allow Pixie3D to run on your system without any interfering.

I am very interested to know the reason why you have issues with running Pixie3D

Have you considered setting up a user forum on your own site? It seems to be a bit out of place on another persons forum. I like your software but see it could use more model formats like perhaps 3DS, or even OBJ format. I use another modeling application and would like to see other products like Anim8or and Pixie developed as a replacement for the one I currently use.
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: 3dview on August 27, 2017, 10:05:53 am
Thank you for letting me know.

The reason why this error message appears is because it cannot find any entry point for Pixie3D.dll
Could you check if Pixie3D.dll exists in the extracted folder? and that you have extracted all files to the same folder.
Also check if you may have an aggressive anti-virus software which is deleting Pixie3D.dll?
If so make sure you allow Pixie3D to run on your system without any interfering.

I am very interested to know the reason why you have issues with running Pixie3D

I checked the Pixie3D folder that I extracted to the desktop and Pixie3D.Dll is in the folder.
  I also tried it on my wife's laptop running Win 7 and still get the VCOMP140.DLL missing error message and Pixie won't start.
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: lppena on August 28, 2017, 08:17:04 am
Thank you for letting me know.

The reason why this error message appears is because it cannot find any entry point for Pixie3D.dll
Could you check if Pixie3D.dll exists in the extracted folder? and that you have extracted all files to the same folder.
Also check if you may have an aggressive anti-virus software which is deleting Pixie3D.dll?
If so make sure you allow Pixie3D to run on your system without any interfering.

I am very interested to know the reason why you have issues with running Pixie3D

I checked the Pixie3D folder that I extracted to the desktop and Pixie3D.Dll is in the folder.
  I also tried it on my wife's laptop running Win 7 and still get the VCOMP140.DLL missing error message and Pixie won't start.


I have W7 home and Pixie runs just fine so far.
Title: Re: Pixie3D
Post by: 3dview on August 29, 2017, 10:25:11 am
Thank you for letting me know.

The reason why this error message appears is because it cannot find any entry point for Pixie3D.dll
Could you check if Pixie3D.dll exists in the extracted folder? and that you have extracted all files to the same folder.
Also check if you may have an aggressive anti-virus software which is deleting Pixie3D.dll?
If so make sure you allow Pixie3D to run on your system without any interfering.

I am very interested to know the reason why you have issues with running Pixie3D

I checked the Pixie3D folder that I extracted to the desktop and Pixie3D.Dll is in the folder.
  I also tried it on my wife's laptop running Win 7 and still get the VCOMP140.DLL missing error message and Pixie won't start.


I have W7 home and Pixie runs just fine so far.

  Think I will just give it a miss..