Anim8or Community

General Category => General Anim8or Forum => Topic started by: CoriDavis on August 09, 2017, 12:57:45 am

Title: Move the Rotation Axis?
Post by: CoriDavis on August 09, 2017, 12:57:45 am
This is a problem I've had a lot with my Anim8or projects. The rotation axis, or "center" of the mesh, gets moved far away from the actual center of the mesh. Or where I really want it to be for that matter, and then when I want to rotate it, it gets shot off into space.

(http://i.imgur.com/9aEst7r.png)

Back in the day, stretching the mesh in Object/Edit mode would usually reset it, but that's not working anymore. Is there an option to move the axis? I can't find anything.
Title: Re: Move the Rotation Axis?
Post by: Steve on August 09, 2017, 02:52:32 am
Click on the Object/Axis tool (http://www.anim8or.com/learn/manual/buttons/b_axis_s.png) (hot key O) at the top of the left-hand toolbar. View your model in WireFrame (http://www.anim8or.com/learn/manual/buttons/b_drawwire_s.png) (hot key Ctrl-W) and select the model. The Pivot will then be visible. Use the Move (http://www.anim8or.com/learn/manual/buttons/b_move_s.png) (hot key m) tool to position it where you want it.
Title: Re: Move the Rotation Axis?
Post by: Steve on August 09, 2017, 02:54:31 am
Note: there is a bug that I almost have fixed that causes the rotation to ignore the pivot. I should have a post up in a day or so.
Title: Re: Move the Rotation Axis?
Post by: CoriDavis on August 09, 2017, 03:36:09 am
Oh wow, that was right in front of me. How did I miss that.

Probably because I assumed it was something I wouldn't understand and ignored it. Lol
Title: Re: Move the Rotation Axis?
Post by: ENSONIQ5 on August 09, 2017, 07:48:56 am
The origin point always coincides with the centre of the screen 'cross-hairs' when creating an object.  So if the object is created away from this screen centre, the origin point won't be near the object.  A 'centre hot point' function would be a nice addition to the Edit>Locate functions in a future update :)
Title: Re: Move the Rotation Axis?
Post by: Gyperboloid on August 10, 2017, 01:25:33 am
Yeap, there are some little issues with the object pivot. This sometimes also happens when scalling I think. Something I noticed is the screen shot Cori posted. It looks like a shot from inside an expensive commercial 3D program. And that's because of the new ( well, now kind of a new )color scheme. Steve, will be the old one available for ever, since eyes actuly realy get tyred on long modeling sessions?
Title: Re: Move the Rotation Axis?
Post by: Steve on August 11, 2017, 09:44:37 pm
@CoriDavis: Please give this a try - it should fix the rotation issues in the Object editor.

http://www.anim8or.com/download/files/animv100a.zip (http://www.anim8or.com/download/files/animv100a.zip)