Anim8or Community

General Category => General Anim8or Forum => Topic started by: fromsoysauce on August 09, 2017, 09:15:55 pm

Title: Trying to figure out what the hotkey is to seperate meshes.
Post by: fromsoysauce on August 09, 2017, 09:15:55 pm
I remember by complete accident I pressed some key while editing a mesh. The mesh had a few parts of geometry which were not binded together, and I did plan to separate it into different meshes. But I was planning on doing it by selecting all the faces of each unit and detaching the face to create a new mesh.

But I swear that a few years ago when that happened I had accidentally hit a key and it broke apart the mesh into smaller components based on geometry that was actually connected to each other.

Does anyone know what I am talking about and if so what the hot key to do this is?
Title: Re: Trying to figure out what the hotkey is to seperate meshes.
Post by: Steve on August 09, 2017, 10:25:41 pm
I think the command you're looking for is Edit->DetatchFaces, hot key D. It creat4es a new mesh with all of the selected faces in it and removes those faces from the original object. There is always one new mesh, even if there are disconnected groups of faces selected.
Title: Re: Trying to figure out what the hotkey is to seperate meshes.
Post by: Gyperboloid on August 10, 2017, 12:59:39 am
 :) Steve, she is talking about the "l" short- cut in Point Editor Object Mode. The "l" short- cut in Point Editor originaly stands for the "edge loop cut" through the Edit menu and while having an edge loop selected. But, in Point Editor always, if you hit the "l" short-cut ( actualy never tryed it from the edit menu, but should work the same, don't think it's bent only to the short-cut.  :o ) while nothing ( edge loops ) being selected , if your object consistes of several meshes (joined) they become unjoined. It actualy work as an unjoin solids command, which is the opposite of the join solids in Object Editor in Build menu.Actually, since the unjoin solids command doesn't exist in Buid menu but it exists in general and actualy realy works, maybe you could add it to the Build menu some how? I remember that "hidden trick" was well known like for a long time ago and if I'm not mistaken the pioneers of the forum ( some of many ) told about it. Kubazz mentioned it in a post here, I remember years ago reading about it. I remember him saying " it is not written about it anywhere, neither manual, nor forum". I guess Steve told them the secret :)
Title: Re: Trying to figure out what the hotkey is to seperate meshes.
Post by: fromsoysauce on August 10, 2017, 09:21:58 am
Ahh! Thanks Gyperboloid! That's exactly what I was looking for!!!

It's going to be really useful because- sometimes I want to export to maya so that I can alter many similar models at the same time using the Maya's Wrap deformer. Now I can export the whole thing back into Anim8or open it up and Loop Cut it back into components! No more needing to export the 8 models and import them one at a time, yay!
Title: Re: Trying to figure out what the hotkey is to seperate meshes.
Post by: Steve on August 12, 2017, 12:12:09 am
Wow, I didn't know that it did that! I'll add a Build->SplitSolids command to the object editor menu.

Note: the l hot key won't work in the object editor because it's used for the Line command.
Title: Re: Trying to figure out what the hotkey is to seperate meshes.
Post by: Gyperboloid on August 12, 2017, 02:09:31 pm
 ;D Hah, funny! And that will be great. Many ( if not all ) expressed a wish for that. As for the "l" short cut, since none of the commands in the build menu, exept for group-ungroup (g-u), have any short cut at all,it's definitely not a problem at all. Then maybe if it's not a hard thing to do, to remove this possibility ( split solids in Point Editor ) by simply "turning it off" as it happens with other commands when the requred elements are not selected, so the "l" short cut will cut only selected edge loops and do nothing, as it supposed to do, when edge loops are not selected?
Title: Re: Trying to figure out what the hotkey is to seperate meshes.
Post by: neirao on August 12, 2017, 02:47:01 pm
For to separate jointed meshes i use a script "XLoom_separator.a8s"...
attached below.
Works very well! :)

Title: Re: Trying to figure out what the hotkey is to seperate meshes.
Post by: Gyperboloid on August 15, 2017, 05:00:57 pm
Nice neirao. 8) Though if Steve will implement it into Build menu in Object Editor will be good.
Title: Re: Trying to figure out what the hotkey is to seperate meshes.
Post by: Steve on August 20, 2017, 09:55:32 pm
A new Buiid->SplitSolids command will be in the next drop.