Anim8or Community

General Category => General Anim8or Forum => Topic started by: Nellucnaiv on November 29, 2017, 03:39:54 pm

Title: Problems with Anim8or V1.0 Scene mode and Rendering
Post by: Nellucnaiv on November 29, 2017, 03:39:54 pm
Hi all. I have been working hard on a project with my Candlelit Hallway and my robed.....man?
I have been using Anim8or V0.98 and have been dubious about switching to V1.0 but after seeing it contains a "Fast AA" setting for rendering, thought I'd give it a try.
Firstly, in V0.98 I have been rendering using ART at an AA setting of 4 and 16:9-1280 x 720. Some really close up talking and facial expressions have taken an hour per frame to render. I've also had a problem with unexpected jumps after rendering. When I do an Open GL render, everything flows smoothly but when I render say 10 - 35 followed by 36 - 70, ocassionally eg 35 & 36 don't match exactly, hardly noticeable at times but others pretty bad. Anyone experienced this or have any ideas?

Now, about Anim8or V1.0.
I'm running Windows 8.1 and find it all works....until I hit Scene mode....Anim8or has stopped working and needs to close. I tried a new empty file and go to Scene mode no problem. If I try and import my hallway scene.....Anim8or has stopped working and....well, you know! I'd really appreciate any advice on any of the above or possibly faster ways to render...without jumps :)
Thanks in advance, Ian
Title: Re: Problems with Anim8or V1.0 Scene mode and Rendering
Post by: kreator on November 29, 2017, 06:42:14 pm
anim8or renders frames from zero onwards , so ideally you should start frame0 to 10 then 11 to 35 followed by 36 to 70.

Have no idea regards windows 8 bypassed that version and am using windoiws 10 without any problems.
Title: Re: Problems with Anim8or V1.0 Scene mode and Rendering
Post by: Claude on November 29, 2017, 06:53:20 pm
Try  version 1.0b.See if you have the same problems.
Title: Re: Problems with Anim8or V1.0 Scene mode and Rendering
Post by: Nellucnaiv on November 30, 2017, 02:44:25 pm
Thanks a lot for the advice guys. I do render from 0, it was just an example. Sometimes the transition between two frames is not smooth. I have tried V1.0b but it also crashes when I enter scene mode. Maybe the scenes too complex?
Thanks again
Title: Re: Problems with Anim8or V1.0 Scene mode and Rendering
Post by: AlecJames on November 30, 2017, 03:14:15 pm
Where is the fast AA render option?
Title: Re: Problems with Anim8or V1.0 Scene mode and Rendering
Post by: Gyperboloid on November 30, 2017, 09:13:40 pm
Where is the fast AA render option?

AA settings, left lower corner . I think it's "on" by default ??

Thanks a lot for the advice guys. I do render from 0, it was just an example. Sometimes the transition between two frames is not smooth. I have tried V1.0b but it also crashes when I enter scene mode. Maybe the scenes too complex?
Thanks again

I use the latest build. It did to mee too. I think I figured out what the problem is. My project was 35 MB at the point the problem accured, but I think the size is not the problem here. When I was in the Scene mode in Wireframe shaded view, everything was Ok ( although a little bit freezy, despite computer's 8 GB RAM ). But, when I changed to the flat shaded view Anim8or crashed !!! Thankfully, the project was saved at the right point and nothing was lost. Then, although I couldn't understand what exactly happened and I did the same mistake again. From wireframe to flat shaded ->> crash !!! Only then I changed from wireframe to solid shaded view and no problem. I forget about it for a day or two and the next time it happend again, but... I almost lost the whole work !!! Suddenly I couldn't go from Object Mode to the Scene Mode at all... crash again. Maybe Anim8or remembered the shader settings ( flat shaded ) and that's why I couldn't get into Scene Mode . I oppened the project in the old good v.0.97d and it worked !!! That means the project was not corrupted. Opening a new empty scene ( new project ) was possible too, but turning to the project scene, crushed it again. Finally, I think I found the problem... it's the new shading settings - >> GLSL. Changing to the old ARB or turning them off fixes the problem
Title: Re: Problems with Anim8or V1.0 Scene mode and Rendering
Post by: AlecJames on November 30, 2017, 09:52:07 pm
Thanks Gyperboloid.

(Took me a while to find it because its only in Render-->AA Setup   when ART is selected as the renderer  :-[)
Title: Re: Problems with Anim8or V1.0 Scene mode and Rendering
Post by: Steve on December 06, 2017, 06:17:43 pm
Gyperboloid: What graphics chip do you have?