Anim8or Community

General Category => Anim8or v1.0 Discussion Forum => Topic started by: chuft-captain on February 02, 2018, 10:24:08 am

Title: Invisible layers are always exported ...
Post by: chuft-captain on February 02, 2018, 10:24:08 am
One thing I have noticed recently (prior to this latest 1318 build) is that when exporting a model with hidden layers (into CMOD format) it seems that the hidden layers always get exported regardless of their visibility. This, to me seems counter-intuative, and caused a few duplicate mesh issues in exports, until I realized what was going on.

IMO, what is exported should be only what's visible at the time (otherwise unexpected extras can end up in the export).
It would be good to be able to easily export an assembled model as a series of sub-models (if so desired) by just enabling the desired layers, and disabling all other layers, then exporting the partial model.

This has a lot to do with my workflow, so YMMV. The opposing argument would be that users would have to make sure that all inhabited layers are visible if and when they wanted to export the complete assembly, rather than in parts.

I hope this makes sense ... what do you think of this idea?

Title: Re: Invisible layers are always exported ...
Post by: Steve on February 04, 2018, 09:28:22 am
It looks like I broke this in my latest changes to groups. I'll fix it.
Title: Re: Invisible layers are always exported ...
Post by: chuft-captain on February 04, 2018, 10:09:29 am
It looks like I broke this in my latest changes to groups. I'll fix it.
Thanks Steve,

... although FYI I think this has been happening for a while, maybe as far back as build 1269 or earlier, so you might have to look back a ways to find the fault.
Title: Re: Invisible layers are always exported ...
Post by: Gyperboloid on February 04, 2018, 10:10:32 am
Just to say, although Steve claim to fix it, I don't think layers should affect export. It supposed that the layers affect the "working space process " only and that was ( maybe not ? ) the original purpose of implementing them . Different layers should contain different parts of a  single object, so the whole object should be exported as is.
Title: Re: Invisible layers are always exported ...
Post by: chuft-captain on February 04, 2018, 11:22:44 am
Yes, I suspect you're right. It's probably always been the case as you say (I've confirmed it as far back as build 1269, so it seems this would be a new feature.
I'm not sure how hard this would be for Steve to implement, but what do other's think of the idea to be able to export only visible layers?
Title: Re: Invisible layers are always exported ...
Post by: selden on February 04, 2018, 01:28:14 pm
I think it should be a selectable option. My recollection is that Anim8or has always exported everything, including the pieces hidden by using the H/h keyboard commands.

I'd prefer that, if it is implemented and if the user chooses that option, Anim8or not pass the hidden parts to the export scripts at all. Otherwise all of the export scripts will have to be rewritten to look for a flag that indicates whether or not a vertex is to be exported.
Title: Re: Invisible layers are always exported ...
Post by: chuft-captain on February 07, 2018, 02:40:57 pm
Selden makes a good point.

We would not want to break the export scripts!
Title: Re: Invisible layers are always exported ...
Post by: Gyperboloid on February 07, 2018, 05:53:47 pm
Since those changes would not affect the working process at all ( but even if they would, what can we say, right  :) ) , implementing them is only a good thing. So there's no question :  ...to be  !  :) Due to the nature of the development, it's all about what Steve can say about it. Ya know what I mean ??  ;)