Anim8or Community

General Category => ASL Scripts => Topic started by: bucketman717 on April 21, 2008, 11:47:30 pm

Title: cylinder acts wierd with plugins
Post by: bucketman717 on April 21, 2008, 11:47:30 pm
I have a question: Is there any plugin that seems to interfere, when installed, with the cylinder primitive? It seems that whenever I activate the plugins, if i create a cylinder, it rotates while i'm making it(usually only when i make it go perfectly straight in any direction). I'm only asking because this problem only started when i activated the plugins. I haven't checked to see if it persists when I don't preload plugins.
Title: Re: cylinder acts wierd with plugins
Post by: hihosilver on April 22, 2008, 02:40:27 am
Well first, when making cylinders, they will rotate, but they normally only rotate on the x/y plane.  If you're in a view other than front/back/right/left though, the cylinder will 'roll' when created.  So any ortho view or top/bottom view will roll when created.  If you want it to be straight up and down you can go "Edit>Rotate>Rotate None" and your cylinder will go straight up and down.
Title: Re: cylinder acts wierd with plugins
Post by: bucketman717 on April 22, 2008, 07:38:16 pm
ok, I meant that it rotates intermittently (in front view) on the z axis, similar to right clicking with the rotate tool. the only problem is that it rotates while I'm placing the cylinder. It isn't my mouse because anim8or doesn't register the left mouse button being released. I know that because I'm still placing it at the same time it is rotating on the z axis.
If it's not the plugins causing this, then I will have to try something else.
Title: Re: cylinder acts wierd with plugins
Post by: hihosilver on April 22, 2008, 07:40:58 pm
I'm a bit confused, as it should rotate along the z-axis.  That's how cylinders are placed in anim8or, they do not rotate around the x or y axis of the viewport.
Title: Re: cylinder acts wierd with plugins
Post by: bucketman717 on April 22, 2008, 08:02:17 pm
 I meant to say X axis. But, for some reason, the problem stopped. I can't seem to replicate it again. I can't think of what caused it. Thanks for the help anyway.