Anim8or Community

General Category => General Anim8or Forum => Topic started by: southpaw117 on June 23, 2008, 08:04:35 am

Title: Creating a Basic Grid
Post by: southpaw117 on June 23, 2008, 08:04:35 am
How would I go about creating a basic grid? By that I mean creating a flat object that would have, for example, 10 'dots' squared making 100 total for me to manipulate?
Title: Re: Creating a Basic Grid
Post by: kreator on June 23, 2008, 08:14:30 am
before you get the stock answer " read the manual" I`ll help you out....but i expect you`ll get no end of answers to this "just to outdo each other!!"

1: use the cube icon pull it out Double click on the resulting cube the adjust the X Y and Z to suit

2: Get a Script File called Plane and use that

 
Title: Re: Creating a Basic Grid
Post by: southpaw117 on June 23, 2008, 11:00:35 pm
I've read bits and pieces of the manual but I don't exactly know what to look for, which is why I asked.

I also tried doing what you said, but I couldn't get it working. I don't know how to get the script working. I load it, and the debug screen comes up, but I don't know what to do from there.

Anyways, last night I tried a different approach. Using a line I created by using the line tool to draw 10 points, I extruded it with 10 segments and it gave me a 10x10 grid to which I edited. However this simple concept has a major problem, and if there's a solution to this, then figuring out the 'proper' way to make a grid won't be necessary.

I'm designing models for my game (made in Game Maker) but the way they render outside of Anim8or is different. There's no 'depth' for lack of the proper word, so inside this program, Marzipan (that converts the .obj to a .d3d script for the game) it's blank, and it's the same ingame.

(http://img526.imageshack.us/img526/458/anizw8.jpg)

(http://img167.imageshack.us/img167/1909/marzieh6.jpg)

What can I do to remedy it inside Anim8or, if possible? Or if someone has experience with all 3 programs, is there an easy fix?
Title: Re: Creating a Basic Grid
Post by: kreator on June 23, 2008, 11:59:16 pm
looks like you are trying to create a terrain .... this you can easily do with terranim8or,
http://biederman.net/leslie/terranim8or/terranim8or.htm this can easily create terrains, explosions, fire, snow, rain etc etc.
Download both versions and plugins....

the plane script will give you an extra icon (see the screenshot attached) i have two installed on anim8or
just click and drag a plane out.
Title: Re: Creating a Basic Grid
Post by: B3dman on June 25, 2008, 12:36:40 am
you can do this without a script just make a cube set the parameters to have 10 divisions on the x and z axii then make the length and width about 100. convert to mesh then in point edit mode drag select the bottom row of points and hit delete then you have your plane