Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: problem with fill holes funciton  (Read 5086 times)

skullkrusher101

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
problem with fill holes funciton
« on: August 11, 2008, 06:19:04 am »

ive been having lots of problems with the fill holes function. It doesnt seem to work properly which pretty much makes using htis program impossible.

I realize there are rules about how many faces an edge can be touching, and the color coding helps you determine that, On several occasions Ive had a grouping of 4 connected edges that had either red or green selected edges and was still unable to add faces.

Are there serious bugs regarding that feature? Has anyone else run into problems here? Everything else I've done so far has worked great but the adding faces function is really killing me here.

I commited myself to doing a large project using anim8or and I love the fact that its free and has such a great community here but I am starting to have second thoughts about being able to use it to complete my project. If the program is this buggy then Ill have to find something else. But perhaps its jsut me, I am new at this, so far I love the interface, its just that damn fill holes function thats killing me. Is that the only way to create a new face inside empty edges?

I appologize if this has already been posted, but like I mentioned in my other thread the search function doesnt seem to be working.
Logged

skullkrusher101

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: problem with fill holes funciton
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2008, 07:23:48 am »

The only weird thing im noticing that might help explain my situation is when ive extruded my cubes it seems to create a duplicate of everything, 2 points, edges, faces all sharing the same space.

when i select a point and slide it for example, there is another one in its place. Thats not normal is it?

....... ran some tests. bingo, that was it. wild.  Somewhere along the way i was extruding 2 faces at the same time occupying the same space (or so colse you cant tell) and it created a duplicate of most of the faces in the model. So when I was joining edges together, some would be a complete loop and others wouldnt even though they looked like they were, and it was just completly random which ones would connect and which wouldnt.

that .... was maddening. Now that I know ill be more careful in the future.
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: problem with fill holes funciton
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2008, 08:58:32 am »

Good to know you figured it out!
Logged

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 852
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: problem with fill holes funciton
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2008, 10:41:00 am »

sort of a related issue... not really looking for assistance, as i've got it figured out, but thought i'd post it in case it helps someone else: i built a model the other day (a custom-made ground plane, based off a real-life aerial photo), where i built up the mesh manually with the Cut tool and the Add Edge tool.  some of my faces wouldn't fill either, i think it was some sort of issue with the lines all running in different directions.  for some of them, i deleted the line, redrew it in the other direction (eg. from point 101 to point 124, rather than from point 124 to point 101, if you get what i mean), and tried filling again, and it all worked.  i suppose it must be to do with the normals or something like that.

::)

- colclough
Logged

skullkrusher101

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: problem with fill holes funciton
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2008, 12:57:38 am »

so i rebuilt my foot model from scratch today and it started happening again. Did some playing around and I realized what I was doing wrong.

I basicaly started with a cube grid and once i got my desired shape started extruding upwards to create an angled foot. problem is there were so manny cubes i guess any division down the center has 2 sets of points lines and faces, one for each adjacent cube. Then when you extrude all that up it creates all sorts of unecessary geometry which causes problems later while trying to close edge loops for face adding.

So to fix that problem I selected all the faces I wanted to extrude and before doing so do a simple merge faces command so its only one face extruding. This reduces the complexity severly. I can always re cut the face once its extruded for further manipulation.

Good thing to always keep in mind. One other quirk I noticed which doesnt appear to be in the manual is, sometimes during editing you can try things out and end up deleting edges so you wind up with extra points along an edge that dont really serve any prupose cause they dont connect to anything anymore. But if you delete that point it will kill the edge its on so thats fustrating (unless theres a way you experts know to remove a point without killing the line)

Anyway for example say you have one rectangle. Then you use the cutting tool to add an edge down the middle of just the top face. Then you change your mind and delete the middle edge on top to make the top appear to be one rectangle again. Then you select all 6 edges which would seem to conform to the rules and hit shift-J and .... nothing.

It appears if you have unused points along an edge you cannot create a new face with that. If you reconnect the points or delete them you will be able to create new faces again.
Logged

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 852
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: problem with fill holes funciton
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2008, 10:10:10 am »

kubajzz just posted this topic about his new mesh cleanup script - sounds like the sort of tool you're after ;)

personally, if i find i've made a mistake, i try to use Undo to correct it if at all possible, even if it means undoing (and then having to manually redo) a couple of other steps, because it guarantees that you get the original mesh back just the way it was.  but obviously, if you only change your mind about the action once it's 50 steps back up the undo list, then the Fix-By-Undoing method isn't going to be all that practical :P

- colclough
Logged