Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Texture help  (Read 5273 times)

AManik041

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Texture help
« on: September 11, 2008, 01:50:08 am »

For some reason, when i control the texture and change the specular and emissive in the materials, it doesn't appear exactly as i view it in the render preview.  How do i fix this?
Logged

B3dman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: Texture help
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2008, 02:31:13 am »

i think because the modeling/animation work is done in a mode where the computer "estimates" what it should look like. otherwise whenever you changed anything it would have to render it all to make it perfect and this would take hours to make basic stuff.
Logged
The only thing that matters is Faith showing itself through love.
Galatians 5:6

skullkrusher101

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Texture help
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2008, 03:35:09 am »

I wonder if hitting reset visuals will trigger an update.
Logged

AManik041

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Texture help
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2008, 04:24:02 am »

I have a feeling that's not it, because i've rendered things before
and they've turned out fine. I'm doing something different here
that's affecting it, but i can't quite figure it out

maybe pictures will help:

This is what my screenshot of the model is while i'm working:
http://i37.tinypic.com/2ql8poi.jpg

This is what it renders out to be:
http://i35.tinypic.com/ev41lg.jpg

This is exactly what I did:
I clicked on the button with the "-" next to diffuse, specular, and emissive and added a wooden texture.  I changed the specular to 2, and i changed the color to a little more brown because the texture turned out to not give me the exact color i needed.  I'm pretty sure it's because i changed the color, since that's what I've been doing different from before.  Is there any way for me to fix this without going through all the trouble to re-color all the textures?  Like maybe have to actually click on the texture button and change the md or something?
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: Texture help
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2008, 09:49:56 pm »

First, I see no reason for you to put the texture in the emmisive slot.  Second, a specular level of 2 may be a bit much.
Three, it depends on the lighting of your scene.  For instance, if you have a lot of lights around, and a very high specular setting, the whole thing will appear white.  Though that could also easily be caused by the emissive texture.
Logged

AManik041

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Texture help
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2008, 01:24:07 am »

thanks, although this is a little bit late, i finally managed to figure it out.  You click on the texture button, then click on darken.
Logged

AManik041

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Texture help
« Reply #6 on: September 21, 2008, 01:28:21 am »

i actually have another question that i need help on, can someone tell me where to get the anim8or repair utility?  for some reason my anim8or picture says "error in reading file"
Logged

floyd86

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1056
    • View Profile
    • http://youtube.com/profile?user=floyd386
Re: Texture help
« Reply #7 on: September 21, 2008, 11:42:00 am »

Is there such thing as the anim8or repair utility? however, there some people on the forum who could fix you file. I'm not capable in doing that, but if you post you file here maybe someone could take a look at it.

AManik041

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Texture help
« Reply #8 on: September 23, 2008, 08:40:53 am »

sounds like a useful skill, i should learn how to do that sometime...  here it is, if someone could please fix it then i would really appreciate it.


I have another really noobish question too.  when i extrude paths to create a mesh, i can't texture them.  is there any way i can go around that?
Logged

CowTail

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: Texture help
« Reply #9 on: September 23, 2008, 11:02:10 am »

Fixed. Some parts of your mesh couldn't be restored, however, so you should look over it.
Logged

AManik041

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Texture help
« Reply #10 on: September 23, 2008, 06:23:18 pm »

That's tight, thanks a lot.  The main part of what I needed is there, so it's all good. 

Also, back to another queston that i asked in a previous post, is there a way to texture a path that i extrude?
Logged

Raxx

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1461
    • View Profile
Re: Texture help
« Reply #11 on: September 23, 2008, 09:31:18 pm »

Clear this up for me: Do you want to A) Make the parts less shiny like in your workspace or B) Map the textures onto it so that the details on the texture aren't warped and show up?

For A: Turn off your emmissive and play with toning down your specular and other parts of the corresponding material until the Material's Preview Sphere in the material bar looks like what your workspace versions shows, or keep re-rendering until it's good enough.

For B: Check out the UV tool. Take a look at the manual for help on how to use it.

I think in your case, both A and B apply, so do both :P
Logged