Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Loop cut, what is it?  (Read 3702 times)

DragonSlayer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Now lets try to find that dragon...
    • View Profile
Loop cut, what is it?
« on: April 22, 2010, 03:53:20 pm »

Looking through these forums, I keep finding things about loop cutting... the thing is I don't know what it is or what it is for. It pops up all over the place, so I'm betting it is quite useful. Could someone please help me figure it out? Thank you.
Logged

siragin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
    • Shatalu Productions
Re: Loop cut, what is it?
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2010, 04:20:32 pm »

loop cut is when you use the knife tool to cut an even loop around your model. there is also a loop cut feature in the edit menu. If you sucessfully created a good edge loop, you can select loop cut and detach that part of the model.
Logged

neirao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 570
  • Neirao
    • View Profile
Re: Loop cut, what is it?
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2010, 04:22:50 pm »

Logged

DragonSlayer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Now lets try to find that dragon...
    • View Profile
Re: Loop cut, what is it?
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2010, 05:46:12 pm »

I know what the cut tool is, but the way it's refered to is confusing me. I don't mean to sound rude or anything, but does anything else have a name sorta like Loop cut? Maybe I'm just thick headed or misconstruing something. Thanks neirao for trying to help. I appreciate such effort.
Logged

siragin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
    • Shatalu Productions
Re: Loop cut, what is it?
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2010, 10:27:23 pm »

loop cut is in the edit menu. its used when you select an edge loop. and it will split the model from that region.
Logged

DragonSlayer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Now lets try to find that dragon...
    • View Profile
Re: Loop cut, what is it?
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2010, 05:47:30 pm »

Ok, thank you.
Logged

3Dgeek11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 540
  • Roll Tide.
    • View Profile
    • My DeviantART
Re: Loop cut, what is it?
« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2010, 02:15:13 am »

I know what loopcutting is, but it's the edge-looping that gets me. Never have figured it out, and I'm pretty good at 3D modeling (IMO), maybe it's vital that I learn that..

Everyone's always saying, Edge-loop this, edge-loop that and I can't figure it out...
Hehe
Logged

DragonSlayer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Now lets try to find that dragon...
    • View Profile
Re: Loop cut, what is it?
« Reply #7 on: April 26, 2010, 02:34:45 pm »

Yeah, that's what I was talking about. Boy I'm bad with names... :-X
Logged

3Dgeek11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 540
  • Roll Tide.
    • View Profile
    • My DeviantART
Re: Loop cut, what is it?
« Reply #8 on: April 26, 2010, 09:51:37 pm »

Maybe someone will notice this topic again, and explain that to us. :P
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: Loop cut, what is it?
« Reply #9 on: April 26, 2010, 10:01:53 pm »

This is a great resource to help you educate yourself: http://www.subdivisionmodeling.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8000
It explains a good deal about edge loops, flow and topology.
Logged

3Dgeek11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 540
  • Roll Tide.
    • View Profile
    • My DeviantART
Re: Loop cut, what is it?
« Reply #10 on: April 26, 2010, 10:07:11 pm »

Thanks! I'll read that as soon as I can. That's what I've been wanting. :)
Logged

DragonSlayer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Now lets try to find that dragon...
    • View Profile
Re: Loop cut, what is it?
« Reply #11 on: April 27, 2010, 01:32:06 pm »

Thank you! But I'm confused on how you do this in Anim8or, that thread discusses the concepts, but is not platform specific (a good thing when discussing concepts, but then the user only has some of the info...) Thanks again!
« Last Edit: April 27, 2010, 01:40:15 pm by DragonSlayer »
Logged

3Dgeek11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 540
  • Roll Tide.
    • View Profile
    • My DeviantART
Re: Loop cut, what is it?
« Reply #12 on: April 27, 2010, 08:08:46 pm »

Yeah, that's what I thought.. But it's still good reference.

I don't know, maybe you just create edges? I haven't taken a closer look at the link yet.
I want to be in a mood where I can understand and retain it all when I read it.
Logged

DragonSlayer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Now lets try to find that dragon...
    • View Profile
Re: Loop cut, what is it?
« Reply #13 on: April 28, 2010, 01:29:17 pm »

Watching Kreator's tutorial, that's what it seems to be. I'm doing a dragon head as practice. The thing that confused me is how did he start with the new edge tool. I made an n-gon, filled it, then deleted all but on point to start on, which worked. So thank you Kreator, great tutorial (and amazingly, it's not blocked on my school computer ;D)!
Logged

3Dgeek11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 540
  • Roll Tide.
    • View Profile
    • My DeviantART
Re: Loop cut, what is it?
« Reply #14 on: April 28, 2010, 08:37:11 pm »

Open up the point/edit mode, click the tool that says Never mind, look at the attachment.

Once you've clicked the tool, go to wireframe mode, and hold down shift and click and drag. Then you've got a line!
Hope that helped.
Also: What tutorial are you talking about, btw?

P.S. Yes, that's one of my models, too. :P
Logged
Pages: [1] 2