Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: Trees  (Read 7948 times)

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: Trees
« Reply #15 on: August 15, 2010, 06:35:58 pm »

Both is set up fine, I used the same picture for the Diffuse and the Transparent, so yes, they are the same.  I even used the new frond picture and I UV'd it, but it's still black and white with the example ball in the corner exactly how I want it.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2010, 11:30:14 pm by CoriDavis »
Logged

davdud101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 950
  • Couldn't ever use Blender or Maya. Anim8or's good.
    • View Profile
Re: Trees
« Reply #16 on: August 18, 2010, 10:29:37 pm »

don't you set diffuse 0, or am I mistaken?
Logged
?

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1114
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: Trees
« Reply #17 on: August 18, 2010, 10:40:24 pm »

Have you rendered the image?..... It won`t show until you actually render the scene.
Logged
O

davdud101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 950
  • Couldn't ever use Blender or Maya. Anim8or's good.
    • View Profile
Re: Trees
« Reply #18 on: August 18, 2010, 10:44:30 pm »

Oh yeah, that's a major part of it. Rendering.
Logged
?

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: Trees
« Reply #19 on: August 19, 2010, 12:54:14 am »

aww... you mean I have to render it? great...  will it be transparent in the rendered movie?
« Last Edit: August 19, 2010, 01:06:17 am by CoriDavis »
Logged

davdud101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 950
  • Couldn't ever use Blender or Maya. Anim8or's good.
    • View Profile
Re: Trees
« Reply #20 on: August 19, 2010, 01:02:35 am »

it should be.
Logged
?

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: Trees
« Reply #21 on: August 19, 2010, 01:06:53 am »

Yes! the render worked! I was afraid to do it seeing how I kind of ruined my file trying to render that walking bird tutorial.  I have plenty of backups for this file, so I have plenty of tries to get it right and I can just copy more if I need to.

but can anyone tell me specifically each step of rendering a movie? the manual just says "you can do this with this tool..." and gives no further info. I don't want to mess this up.
Logged

davdud101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 950
  • Couldn't ever use Blender or Maya. Anim8or's good.
    • View Profile
Re: Trees
« Reply #22 on: August 19, 2010, 01:09:11 am »

Wait, so you don't know how to render?
Logged
?

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: Trees
« Reply #23 on: August 19, 2010, 01:16:49 am »

I tried to follow the rendering instructions on the tutorial, I guess I didn't select the right thing or something, and it messed it up. now when I try to render it again, I get this message... wait a minute... it's working!!! ok, that's cool and strange at the same time, I wonder what I did wrong the first time.

Anyway, here's what the video looks like. why is it so.. Pixel-ey and nasty-smudgey? I guess I could choose a different setting to fix it
http://tinypic.com/r/5cdjkx/4
« Last Edit: August 19, 2010, 01:30:18 am by CoriDavis »
Logged

davdud101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 950
  • Couldn't ever use Blender or Maya. Anim8or's good.
    • View Profile
Re: Trees
« Reply #24 on: August 19, 2010, 02:01:15 am »

Wait, i saw no trees in this but whatever... It's smudgy probably not because of the renderer, but because it has to compress the file before saving it, which reduces the video quality.
Logged
?

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: Trees
« Reply #25 on: August 19, 2010, 02:05:00 am »

that's not my current file, that was from the tutorial, I used it as an example. i'll post my tree when it's finished. you can see the rest of my progress in this board, http://www.anim8or.com/smf/index.php?topic=3553.0 the tree is for scenery
Logged

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: Trees
« Reply #26 on: August 19, 2010, 04:16:00 pm »

Here is my rendered tree!
Logged

davdud101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 950
  • Couldn't ever use Blender or Maya. Anim8or's good.
    • View Profile
Re: Trees
« Reply #27 on: August 19, 2010, 04:55:12 pm »

Wow, the tree looks very nice!
Logged
?

CoriDavis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Scámarca Productions
    • View Profile
    • Youtube- AranScathProductions
Re: Trees
« Reply #28 on: August 19, 2010, 04:58:44 pm »

thanks, it has a billion polys though. I didn't even subdivide except in the top, even then, I deleted the lines to make alternating squares to make peak-faces for those spikes.
Logged

davdud101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 950
  • Couldn't ever use Blender or Maya. Anim8or's good.
    • View Profile
Re: Trees
« Reply #29 on: August 19, 2010, 05:31:15 pm »

Seems like it could been done with a lot less polys.... Just a tree? couldn't have taken that many polys. How long was the render time?
Logged
?
Pages: 1 [2] 3