Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: add keyframe without affecting current position  (Read 1411 times)

Hypure

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
    • View Profile
add keyframe without affecting current position
« on: December 26, 2015, 09:44:38 pm »

I thought in scene mode I could click the work space with current tool and it would lay down a keyframe for current position, I thought Anim8or did this but not anymore? 
Logged

Raxx

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1450
    • View Profile
Re: add keyframe without affecting current position
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2015, 12:02:57 am »

I recall it doing so as well, but with the addition of the Fast Select tool, I think it would have caused a bit of unintended keying of elements.

If you want to key the current position/orientation/scale/whatever, you can double click on its spot in the timeline and hit "Add Key".
Logged

Hypure

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
    • View Profile
Re: add keyframe without affecting current position
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2015, 01:30:16 am »

Ok all the same, thanks. Speaking of the fast select I discovered the usefulness of that as well.... and Raxx, I was watching your tWEAK v0.1b vid on youtube, It looked like you were working with a "heads up display" toggle for your tools on Anim8or... That looks great, did you ever release that?
« Last Edit: December 27, 2015, 01:40:45 am by Hypure »
Logged

Raxx

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1450
    • View Profile
Re: add keyframe without affecting current position
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2015, 03:59:52 am »

Wow, been a while since it's been brought up. The release topic for tWEAK is located here, and it probably won't work with anything except 0.97, especially if you're using the new UI in Anim8or. I actually used it a lot in some of my old modeling projects, like seen in my youtube.com/watch?v=MtbSbcMaAcY[/youtube]]frog modeling video.

But that was a while ago. A good many of its features, like Alt to rotate the view, tweak tool, and quick knife, have already been implemented in the newer Anim8or releases by Steve. While the radial menu and a few of its shortcuts are still pretty useful, I'd have to rebuild it from scratch if I were to revisit the project. It's on my to-do list, right next to "Render Manager", "Anim8or 3D Viewer", "An8Hub", and "An8 File Converter" :P
Logged

Hypure

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
    • View Profile
Re: add keyframe without affecting current position
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2015, 08:29:43 pm »

Well you are Boss second only too Zen master Steve, the "alt-view rotate" is great..  Your "render manager" sounds great, currently I have been rendering (problem) scenes as frames in a single folder then exporting those to a second program where I find the frames that have the shadows "reversed" and render those frames individually then replace the bad frames.....  Tedious but not really if you only have a few frames to replace......  But that "radial menu" is superb, I would put that on the top of my most wanted!  I could only imagine hitting a hot key for that-  AND if those buttons on the radial menu were programmable?!!  I'll stop dreaming now. 
Logged