Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Anim8or v1.0 is available! Get your copy HERE and see the winner of the splash screen contest made by thecolclough.

Author Topic: Rendering Hangs  (Read 322 times)

dancingshoes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Rendering Hangs
« on: June 29, 2017, 02:38:18 pm »

I've tried this with 1.0 on win 7 64 and XP 32 (w/o opengl) with the same result. It seems not be an issue with Anim8or_1269.

I can movie-render the camera view scene of the attached test project. However a second rendering results in the program freezing on the first frame.

(This is just a reduction of a larger project which fails to render.)

Thanks.

Dan




Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1082
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: Rendering Hangs
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2017, 07:10:07 pm »

first off you have the panoramic set to -170 /170 it should be -180/180   as there are no objects I assume you are just testing the panoramic but it renders out for me everytime, Personally I used OpenGL as it lacks  models, figures or sequences.No ground plane either.


What version are u using V1.00? or an earlier beta as I did have problems with a heavily populated scene when rendering images in Beta 3, but found that if I removed all my ASL scripts and ASL icons it would render each time.
Logged
O

dancingshoes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Rendering Hangs
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2017, 08:46:22 pm »

Thank you for the response.

The pano width had no effect.

In fact a new, untouched project has the same problem: hangs on 2nd render. On two different machines. The Win 7 has opengl, the xp doesn't so used scanline. Tried differing codecs and file names, etc.

I'm using the version from the link on his page. Not a problem with Anim8or_1269.

A separate question (at least for me) is why the same project on a 32 bit machine consumes almost half as much memory as on a 64 bit machine. Searched the forum and haven't seen any authoritative statement on memory limitations

One would think 64 bit would have more available memory but not if it consumes twice as much. (My issue is that the extra memory consumption seems to interfere with rendering, that is, a large project may render on a 32 bit machine, but not on the 64 bit.)

I can imagine technical reason for 32/64 differences like byte alignment but it is disappointing if true.
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1082
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: Rendering Hangs
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2017, 11:04:35 pm »

does 1269 work then?? but hangs with v1.0?  What gfx card are u using? Do u have multi threaded checked?
« Last Edit: June 29, 2017, 11:07:50 pm by kreator »
Logged
O

dancingshoes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Rendering Hangs
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2017, 09:00:38 pm »

There is no hanging with 2nd rendering with Anim8or_1269. On the Win 7 machine, I have 8 GB and a 2 GB msi GT-730. 32 bit XP machine has 4 GB, no opengl GPU.

I tried multiple combos of multithreading and comparability. Tried opengl and scanline. No 2nd go.

I can get out of the hang by changing mode and going back into Scene. However if I try to render using the prior file name, I get a 0x8004406F system error, Create Image .AVI failed perhaps because the file is still opened from the failed render.
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1477
    • View Profile
Re: Rendering Hangs
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2017, 04:03:23 pm »

#100-011 - Rendering a scene a second time hangs.
I think I've found the problem. I'm working on a solution.
Logged

slex

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
  • 3D-TV
    • View Profile
Re: Rendering Hangs
« Reply #6 on: July 04, 2017, 01:19:46 am »

dancingshoes,  I tried to render that panoramic scene into AVI and it gave the same error, win764bit, Anim8or run in XP3 mode.

Why don't you try rendering movie in PNG pictures, then consolidate those pictures into a movie with some external program, it always works great, you can save yourself some time by rendering those pictures only once, and you can add some effects like music etc... I really like Anim8or's speed when it comes to animating, but I can't count the number of my fails when I tried to render full scene into a movie directly.
Please don't anyone understand me wrong, there are some fast codecs that render preview of the movie very fast within An8, but the full scale rendering of HQ scene is  something that should be done perfect and if possible just once. When you render movie into png, even if computer crashes within rendering you can just continue from the next frame- no need to render anything twice.

Btw,
you might increase the length of your scene up to a 400 frames to look more 'fluid'. And how did you take that picture? it's great.


Logged