Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Looping Animation  (Read 1213 times)

itsstillthinking

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Looping Animation
« on: March 10, 2018, 07:37:04 pm »

Hey all i was wondering something

So it seems that when i create water or other particle effects they work fine for about 100 frames, however the bigger the frames you make them, the more likely it will just crash Anim8or.

I was wondering if it is possible to make a shorter animation but tell it to loop multiple times. Any help would be much appreciated
Logged

fefe01

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • make professional works only using simple softwares
    • View Profile
Re: Looping Animation
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2018, 08:10:22 am »

there must be something wrong with your an8 file. may be the models are heavy! when i made an animation about a lost person on his boat in the middle of the sea, the scene exceeded one minute but anim8or didn't crash. for the looping animation, it may be possible on options > loop scene but not possible in the render procedure. ( you aresega dreamcast if i am not mistaken )
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1619
    • View Profile
Re: Looping Animation
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2018, 09:14:48 pm »

itsstillthinking: Can you tell me how much memory that nim8or is using? Open the Windows task manager to find this.
Logged

itsstillthinking

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: Looping Animation
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2018, 01:31:09 am »

The peak it gets to is about 1.1 gig, i have nearly 9 gigs so i doubt that's the issue. Though this is a very complex scene so im going to try to break it into 30 second intervals to see if that works
Logged

RudySchneider

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 415
  • There are no problems, only opportunities
    • View Profile
Re: Looping Animation
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2018, 02:52:47 am »

Just a quick question, itsstillthinking...
Are you rendering out to individual frames and then combining them into a video using something like VirtualDub, or are you rendering to a video directly within Anim8or?  If the latter, virtually EVERYONE will tell you to NOT do that!  Using the first method also makes it easier to redo portions of an animation, or pick up from where the crash occurred.
Logged
G

itsstillthinking

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: Looping Animation
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2018, 04:51:04 am »

I render evrey frame, dont think iv ever used the render video option in all these years :P

And it crashes before anything is even rendered, sometimes Anim8or wont even boot before it crashes 8)
Logged

fefe01

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • make professional works only using simple softwares
    • View Profile
Re: Looping Animation
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2018, 05:05:18 pm »

really? :) that's why i said that your anim8or file is heavy!
Logged

selden

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
    • Modelling for Celestia
Re: Looping Animation
« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2018, 05:24:27 pm »

itsstillthinking,

Anim8or currently is a 32 bit application, so by default it can't use more than 2GB.

Supposedly a 32 bit app can access as much as 4GB if it's properly designed and has been built with the linker option /LARGEADDRESSAWARE, but I don't think that's the case for Anim8or. For details, see http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa366778.aspx

There are some utility programs which can patch 32 bit applications so they can access more than 2GB. Whether or not they'd work with Anim8or, I don't know. The procedure for using one of those patching utilities is described at https://www.maketecheasier.com/increase-memory-limit-for-32-bit-applications-in-windows-64-bit-os/
Logged
Selden

itsstillthinking

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: Looping Animation
« Reply #8 on: March 13, 2018, 06:23:22 pm »

Thanks for all the info! Sorry everyone for causing you grief :o
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1619
    • View Profile
Re: Looping Animation
« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2018, 11:18:27 pm »

A long term goal is to remove the 32-bit limit from Anim8or code. I've been slowly cleaning the code up for some time but there's still a bit to do. Currently it's limited to 2 GB I believe. There is an option to compile it the will increase this limit to 3+ but I'm not using it because some older versions of Windows would crash wiit it. Since I didn't have those systems to debug on I couldn't find the problem.
Logged

itsstillthinking

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: Looping Animation
« Reply #10 on: March 14, 2018, 04:56:19 am »

Cant wait for that to unlock even more potential in Anim8or, keep up the good work Steve! :D
Logged

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 838
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: Looping Animation
« Reply #11 on: March 14, 2018, 05:37:26 pm »

A long term goal is to remove the 32-bit limit from Anim8or code.

does that mean there might be a 64-bit build one of these days?
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1619
    • View Profile
Re: Looping Animation
« Reply #12 on: March 14, 2018, 07:30:40 pm »

Yes, I'm working towards a 64-bit version. I'm afraid to change too much in the release branch - don't want to break everything! So I'll probably make a new branch to do the conversion - same features. Once it's stable I'll build both 32-bit and 64-bit from that branch.
Logged

itsstillthinking

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: Looping Animation
« Reply #13 on: March 14, 2018, 11:12:17 pm »

Yes, I'm working towards a 64-bit version. I'm afraid to change too much in the release branch - don't want to break everything! So I'll probably make a new branch to do the conversion - same features. Once it's stable I'll build both 32-bit and 64-bit from that branch.


Cant wait for it steve!
Logged

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 838
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: Looping Animation
« Reply #14 on: March 15, 2018, 12:01:14 am »

Yes, I'm working towards a 64-bit version.

most excellent =]
Logged