Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: cant fill holes - help me  (Read 4211 times)

tobbe654

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
cant fill holes - help me
« on: April 28, 2008, 07:33:03 pm »

when i try to fill holes it dont work every time. sometimes i need to make a lot of diagonals to get it working..

i guess that isn't necessary..

is it a bug in anim8or?



thanks for answers
Logged

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 852
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: cant fill holes - help me
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2008, 07:59:40 pm »

that's a pretty odd-looking wireframe... :P  could you post your .an8 file for us to have a look at, maybe?

my only diagnosis so far is, it looks like you might be trying to attach more than 2 faces to the same edge, which isn't possible.  :-\

welcome to the forum, btw  ;D

- colclough
Logged

tobbe654

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: cant fill holes - help me
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2008, 08:27:20 pm »

here it is: http://home.no.net/rfadum/tobbe/hybel.an8 right click --> "save as" (or something like that..)
« Last Edit: April 28, 2008, 08:51:52 pm by tobbe654 »
Logged

tobbe654

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: cant fill holes - help me
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2008, 09:05:30 pm »

that's a pretty odd-looking wireframe... :P  could you post your .an8 file for us to have a look at, maybe?

my only diagnosis so far is, it looks like you might be trying to attach more than 2 faces to the same edge, which isn't possible.  :-\

welcome to the forum, btw  ;D

- colclough

yes, thats what im trying to do.. is it any reason for thats inpossible??
else its really weird, isn't it?
Logged

kreator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1142
  • Anim8or, Blender, & Carrara. A Great Combination!
    • View Profile
    • Anim8orWorld
Re: cant fill holes - help me
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2008, 09:37:43 pm »

had a look at your file, seems to be some problems ...make two boxes then in face mode use inset , where you want door to be and then delete the face, heres the file back all you need do is join them .

you are as colclough suggests trying to join different edges and the fill holes option will not work as you have it set up.... You should`nt need all those tris in the small floor either.

Hope this helps!

 
« Last Edit: April 28, 2008, 09:44:39 pm by kreator »
Logged
O

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 852
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: cant fill holes - help me
« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2008, 10:12:12 pm »

anim8or doesn't allow more than 2 faces on the same edge, because otherwise some of the faces would end up being buried inside the mesh, which usually isn't worth it (you wouldn't be able to see them), and i think limiting it to 2 per edge probably also makes it much easier for the program to work out where faces should be put in.

if the object's going to be a building, then it'd probably be better to make it out of several thin cuboid solids, rather than building it from faces in a mesh.  real walls and things have thickness, and using cuboids would show that more realistically.  and i think it'd be easier, too.  anyway, that's how i always make my building models, i find it works quite well for me.  :)

- colclough
Logged

tobbe654

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: cant fill holes - help me
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2008, 10:47:15 pm »

yes, but this is just a demo for my presentation.. i wanted to make something quick.. not a big project..


oftopic: take a look at my bigger project: http://home.no.net/rfadum/tobbe/unnamed.an8 rightclick --> "save as"..
« Last Edit: April 28, 2008, 10:49:14 pm by tobbe654 »
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: cant fill holes - help me
« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2008, 12:58:13 am »

To help you understand I made this visual.  Hopefully it's more clear now...

As a side note, you can tell how many faces are already connected to an edge.  If the edge is pink when selected, there are no faces connected to it.  If the edge is green when selected that means it has one face connected to it, and when an edge is white that means it already has two faces connected to it, so you can't attach any other faces to it unless you delete one.

Edit:  The last sentence in the image should say "green edge" not "orange edge"
« Last Edit: April 29, 2008, 07:19:15 am by hihosilver »
Logged

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 852
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: cant fill holes - help me
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2008, 07:52:03 am »

i wanted to make something quick..

but that's what i was saying - cuboid primitives are pretty quick to work with.  at least, i find they are, i guess not everyone's the same though...
:)
Logged