Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Problem with animating figure in Sequence Editor  (Read 2526 times)

Bart

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Problem with animating figure in Sequence Editor
« on: July 10, 2008, 03:43:55 pm »

Hello,

I have been using Anim8or for quite some time and now I have made a simple figure:



I have built the skeleton and have added joint limits for all bones. I also added joint limits for the arms in the Figure Editor, as shown on the image. Now when I want to rotate the arm bone in the Sequence Editor, the arm should rotate around its Z-axis and X-axis, but it only rotates along its X-axis.

I have added joint limits for all bones and locked the bones that aren't supposed to move. Why doesn't the arm move like it's supposed to?

The file can be found here: http://www.bart-teunis.eu/tmp/char095.an8

How can this be solved?
Logged

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 841
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: Problem with animating figure in Sequence Editor
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2008, 05:02:56 pm »

you have to use different mouse buttons to control rotation around different axes - left-click-and-drag does the X axis, as you've just described, right-drag does the Y axis, and the centre button / scroll wheel (or Alt + right mouse button if you've only got a 2-key mouse) does Z.  i've had a look at your file and it's all set up fine.

don't worry, lots of people stumble on this one...  ;D

- colclough
Logged

Tanzim

  • Guest
Re: Problem with animating figure in Sequence Editor
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2008, 05:49:47 am »

You should use the search feature on the top of this forum, read the manual, and use Google.
Logged

Bart

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with animating figure in Sequence Editor
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2008, 06:57:06 pm »

I did perform a search on this forum but I didn't find many topics on this.
And I did the simple walk tutorial on the website.

But I've figured it out now.
I see where I've gone wrong. I assumed that the controls to rotate bones where the same in both editors (figure and sequence), which clearly isn't the case.

Thanks for the help.
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with animating figure in Sequence Editor
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2008, 06:23:50 am »

Also remember that you can do animations with bones in the scene editor as well.  It's not only limited to the sequence editor.
Logged

Bart

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with animating figure in Sequence Editor
« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2008, 12:30:55 pm »

Ah, that's interesting to know, too. Thanks :)
Logged