Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: How do you render shadows inside a closed room?  (Read 4966 times)

siragin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
    • Shatalu Productions
How do you render shadows inside a closed room?
« on: September 08, 2008, 08:46:19 pm »

I can't figure out how to make the shadows show up in my render. I read the manual and it said that volume shadows won't render shadows in a closed object. and it said to use raytraycer and seperate the objects into two seperate objects but that still doesn't work. all objects are set to cast and recieve shadows and the main light that I want to cast shadows is set to raytracer but nothing. Here is what i'm trying to render.
Logged

MP3D

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: How do you render shadows inside a closed room?
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2008, 09:03:51 pm »

make sure your light is et to cast shadows and you objects as well. DO NOT use volume shadows.


also theres a tutorial on the tutorial page about shadows.
<-------------------over there,



MP3D
« Last Edit: September 08, 2008, 09:12:35 pm by MP3D »
Logged

RudySchneider

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
  • There are no problems, only opportunities
    • View Profile
Re: How do you render shadows inside a closed room?
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2008, 10:17:59 pm »

Don't forget to make sure you've specified shadows to show up in your renders (Click View > Preferences..., and make sure "Shadows" is ticked in the File Output section.
Logged
G

siragin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
    • Shatalu Productions
Re: How do you render shadows inside a closed room?
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2008, 10:37:03 pm »

as I have already said, I have done all of those and shadows will not show up unless i remove all the walls. I read the manual before and when it said to use raytraycer and the same thing came out.
Logged

ENSONIQ5

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 977
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: How do you render shadows inside a closed room?
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2008, 12:02:02 am »

This might be obvious, but if the light is outside the room, and the room is closed, how can it cast shadows?  I would suggest either placing a local or spot light inside the room, set to cast shadows, or cut a window in one of the walls to let the light in from a distant light.
Logged

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: How do you render shadows inside a closed room?
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2008, 12:10:50 am »

Adding to what Ensoniq5 said, if the light is outside the room it will cast a shadow, but the shadow will be even throughout the entire room which will make it seem like there's no shadow.  So for the benches to cast shadows you need lights inside the room.
Logged

siragin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
    • Shatalu Productions
Re: How do you render shadows inside a closed room?
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2008, 12:17:48 am »

The lights are already inside the room. I tried removing the doors that are in front of the room because it won't be seen in the animation but that still doesn't do anything.
Logged

RudySchneider

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
  • There are no problems, only opportunities
    • View Profile
Re: How do you render shadows inside a closed room?
« Reply #7 on: September 09, 2008, 12:51:49 am »

as I have already said, I have done all of those and shadows will not show up unless i remove all the walls. I read the manual before and when it said to use raytraycer and the same thing came out.

Actually, You only mentioned setting your lights to cast shadows, and setting your objects to cast and receive shadows.  You didn't say a thing about actually enabling shadows by clicking View > Preferences. 

You might consider posting your Anim8or file so others can look it over.  Alternately, if you're concerned about others looking at your project, create a much simpler version of your scene and try again.  If you still can't get the results you're after, post the simple file for others to look over.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2008, 12:55:42 am by RudySchneider »
Logged
G

lynn22

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
    • 3D Animation
Re: How do you render shadows inside a closed room?
« Reply #8 on: September 09, 2008, 05:02:09 am »

Have you tried reducing the numbers for inner and outer radius of your local lights inside your room.
Logged