Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Skeleton issue  (Read 2926 times)

mrussum

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Skeleton issue
« on: October 27, 2009, 07:52:46 pm »

Hi.
So I've built an entire skeleton only to find out that you can only skin an object to the children of the bone you attach the object to. Heres an explanation of my project in more detail.

I have a downloaded model of a man i'm using for my object. I have built a skeleton to that model. I am trying to skin the whole object to the entire skeleton. but the hip and spine bones are both children of the root bone, so when I go to skin the object, which is currently attached to the spine bone, I can only skin it to the upper half of the skeleton. Same issue when I attach it to one of the hip bones... only able to skin it to the leg built of the that hip bone.

To some things up I have two questions.

1. Is there anyway I can attach an object to the root bone or..

2. can i reattach the bottom ends of the spine and hip bones to the end of another bone...

any other ways to solve this besides going back and doing the whole lower half again would be much appreciated
Logged

mrussum

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
srry 4 double posting
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2009, 08:02:21 pm »

hate to double post... but i had an idea.
how does copying and pasting work in anim8or. Can you cut and paste bones? If so how
Logged

mak

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Re: Skeleton issue
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2009, 12:48:45 am »

i wish you could copy and paste bones. you cant add objects to the root bone either, but you can add an extra bone on the root bone and add your object to that bone. then every bone after that will be a child.
Logged
realisim is for reality

hihosilver

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: Skeleton issue
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2009, 02:09:27 am »

To do this, select the root bone and go, "Build>Insert Bone" and set its length then you'll have a new bone.  Attach the object to that bone and skin away!
Logged

mrussum

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Skeleton issue
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2009, 12:00:15 pm »

Once again, thanks a ton! The people on this forum are very helpful
Logged