Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: Sound in Anim8or  (Read 2166 times)

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
    • View Profile
Sound in Anim8or
« on: May 01, 2020, 05:20:49 pm »

Beginning with build 1380 Anim8or supports sound. Use the Build->AddSound... menu command to add sound .WAV sounds to the scene. The time track shows a visualization of the sound to help synchronize speech morphs and movement.

Note: While you may use .mp3 and .wav files, only .wav files show the sound wave visualization in the track window!

More to come: Tracks for dialog and sound description, character speech morph targets, and more!

I'm working on some examples to post, so stay tuned!

Note: I updated the above link to point to the latest version on May 6.
« Last Edit: May 06, 2020, 04:48:06 pm by Steve »
Logged

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 901
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2020, 07:11:38 pm »

Nearly Speechless, but not for much longer! !
 This is so unexpected, and such an awesome surprise. Can't wait to try it out.
 I new it was somewhere on your list, steve, but what a nicely kept secret..
« Last Edit: May 01, 2020, 07:12:43 pm by johnar »
Logged
%

davdud101

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
  • Couldn't ever use Blender or Maya. Anim8or's good.
    • View Profile
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2020, 07:33:31 pm »

Steve!!! No lie - I'll admit I haven't used Anim8or for anything beyond CAD-type stuff for the past few years - but this might be the feature to encourage me to get back into animation! It's always been a bit on the tough side getting sound to sync up well (gets often to where you're rather syncing the sound TO the animation instead ;) )

Very cool!
Logged
?

captaindrewi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 469
  • errm...errr?
    • View Profile
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2020, 08:18:27 pm »

HA ha ha hahaha bleep bang whistle!boom!
Dived right in..half hour later re reads Steve's words about no .avi ouput yet
 ;)
« Last Edit: May 01, 2020, 10:01:55 pm by captaindrewi »
Logged
!

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 901
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2020, 10:06:02 pm »

Hi steve
 Have been playing with the add sound feature. Adding sound is working here, and can add one sound  after another with no problems. I understand that is a single sound track, so sounds can not be overlapped. But thats fine.
 I can add sound, and when i push play -awesome- the sound plays.
 Have found 2 problems.
 The sound file is showing above the timetrack, but is only showing a flat line, and not a representation of the sound. Could this be a soundcard/driver issue. I only have the built in microsoft High definition audio device. Haven't updated drivers, (not so easy here), so before updating drivers could there possibly be another reason why the .wav file is only showing as a flat line?

 The other problem i'm having is rendering the video with sound. Its only rendering 1 frame. Tried scanline, ART and opengl rendering. go to render 200 frames, uncompressed, and only 1 frame renders. Same with using video compression.

 Any ideas? what does your system use in regards to audio? might i need some updating or dedicated soundcard? Thanks.


Quote
half hour later re reads Steve's words about no .avi ouput yet
oops...missed that...
« Last Edit: May 01, 2020, 10:08:48 pm by johnar »
Logged
%

FWL

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2020, 05:00:49 am »

This is really cool, Steve! A super addition for character animation! Thanks a lot for the update!
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
    • View Profile
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2020, 10:43:36 am »

johnar: Are you using a .wav file or an .mp3 file? I have only been able to read the waveform for .avi files but not .mp3. I probably should have only allowed .wav for the time being, or at least add a warning dialog.

Oops! Looks like I broke rendering when there's a sound track. I'll fix that!!!
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
    • View Profile
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2020, 02:02:54 pm »

Build 1378+ fixed the movie rendering bug.
Logged

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 901
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #8 on: May 03, 2020, 03:05:38 am »

Hi Steve

 Yes, i'm using .wav files and have done comparrisons with different bitrates as shown in attached image.
The Video is now rendering, thanks, but still no sound.
I know the sound isn't being rendered out with the .avi, because when i open the test rendering .avi into my video editor there is no sound file accompanying it.

 I've  attached a zip with a couple of my .wav files enclosed. If any of them work for you, then it must be something here at my end.
Logged
%

Trevor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 210
  • Goldfinger64 Dev OS:10 CPU:5960x Gfx:RX480
    • View Profile
    • LS Tech Services
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #9 on: May 03, 2020, 10:44:46 am »

Awsome.

I also show a flat line on .wav.

You should update the sticky too (its still 1363)

Trev
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
    • View Profile
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #10 on: May 03, 2020, 03:21:20 pm »

Looking into it .....
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
    • View Profile
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #11 on: May 03, 2020, 03:39:36 pm »

OK I found a couple of issues:

1) I didn't have any 16-bit examples so I couldn't test 16/sample files.
2) For some reason files with spaces in the name aren't opening when I try to read the underlying data.

I'll have both of these fixed shortly.

And thanks for the sample files
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
    • View Profile
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #12 on: May 03, 2020, 07:57:24 pm »

Both of these problems should be fixed with Build 1379

Logged

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 901
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #13 on: May 04, 2020, 07:17:44 am »

Nice one steve, Its looking good..wav file representation now showing in sound track,(what a beautifull sight)

 but, unfortunately, still not rendering out with .avi . No sign of any sound track being attached to .avi when opening in editing software either.

 I've tried a couple of things. Re naming sound and trying uncompressed and compressed using microsoft video codecs. Not really sure of what more testing i can do. (?)

  Trevor: Are you getting sound in your rendered .avi?

 Gotta say, just  seeing a soundtrack in Anim8or is pretty darn cool.
Logged
%

dode1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #14 on: May 04, 2020, 10:10:10 am »

Cinema Modeoff
LEGO Media Logo LEGO Racers (1999)
The LEGO Media logo as it appeared in the original LEGO Racers game on PC. Extracted directly from the game's files. The original video was encoded using the Intel Indeo Video 5.0 Wavelet codec (AVI extension). The audio was encoded as PCM and was embedded in the aforementioned AVI file. Original Filesize: 640480 Original Framerate: 15fps ...

youtube.com1 year ago

I research the indeointel codec......does anything ring a bell?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4