Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Author Topic: Is there a "connect points" without having to use the Topo knife?  (Read 203 times)

davdud101

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
  • Couldn't ever use Blender or Maya. Anim8or's good.
    • View Profile

Is there any way to select two points and have Anim8or basically cut across/connect them like the Topo knife?

I wondered about this for a while, often times to avoid weird geometry issues I end up needing to cut across faces to create more lines on a model. Sometimes this can be unorthodox with setting the right view angle.
Logged
?

Kevin Gales

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: Is there a "connect points" without having to use the Topo knife?
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2020, 03:50:31 pm »

Is there any way to select two points and have Anim8or basically cut across/connect them like the Topo knife?

I wondered about this for a while, often times to avoid weird geometry issues I end up needing to cut across faces to create more lines on a model. Sometimes this can be unorthodox with setting the right view angle.
Why not use the connect points tool or maybe select the edges and use the connect edges function?
Logged

davdud101

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
  • Couldn't ever use Blender or Maya. Anim8or's good.
    • View Profile
Re: Is there a "connect points" without having to use the Topo knife?
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2020, 12:19:19 pm »

Is there any way to select two points and have Anim8or basically cut across/connect them like the Topo knife?

I wondered about this for a while, often times to avoid weird geometry issues I end up needing to cut across faces to create more lines on a model. Sometimes this can be unorthodox with setting the right view angle.
Why not use the connect points tool or maybe select the edges and use the connect edges function?

Is there any way to select two points and have Anim8or basically cut across/connect them like the Topo knife?

I wondered about this for a while, often times to avoid weird geometry issues I end up needing to cut across faces to create more lines on a model. Sometimes this can be unorthodox with setting the right view angle.
Why not use the connect points tool or maybe select the edges and use the connect edges function?


Woah!! I've been looking for something like connect edges for a while. Tbh all these years I've been thinking it was supposed to be similar to merge points. I've been using Cut Edges and then drawing across with the knife tool.. that'll save some time, thanks!


As far as connecting two point across a face, "Connect points" seems like it'd be the name of the exact function I'm looking for. but I can't find anything with that particular name. Hopefully I'm describing it right - this happens on faces with 4 or more points. when they are not completely flat, or when there are curved profiles and such, like in the photo I attached to this post (I realize this isn't a "valid" method of modeling objects, but I use Anim8or a lot for CAD as opposed to rendering so I often just want to rough out a profile)
Logged
?

Kevin Gales

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: Is there a "connect points" without having to use the Topo knife?
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2020, 12:47:10 pm »

Well If I had a situation like that I would pretty much solve it like in the picture below....It is not a good practice to have a face with more than five points...
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1852
    • View Profile
Re: Is there a "connect points" without having to use the Topo knife?
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2020, 03:17:22 pm »

You can connect any two points in a mesh with the "Add Edge" tool. Click on the first point, press the Ctrl key, and drag to the second point. See Adding Points and Edges in the manual.

Oops! The manual doesn't show the Ctrl option that I mentioned!!! But it works. I'll update the manual!
« Last Edit: June 22, 2020, 03:19:33 pm by Steve »
Logged

Kevin Gales

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: Is there a "connect points" without having to use the Topo knife?
« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2020, 03:48:11 pm »

You can connect any two points in a mesh with the "Add Edge" tool. Click on the first point, press the Ctrl key, and drag to the second point. See Adding Points and Edges in the manual.

Oops! The manual doesn't show the Ctrl option that I mentioned!!! But it works. I'll update the manual!
Mine works with double click and drag (on touchpad)...or left click mouse button...also "double tap and drag" on touch screen
Logged