Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Ian Ross has just released a book on Anim8or. It's perect for a beginner and a good reference for experienced users. It contains detailed chapters on every aspect, with many examples. Get your own copy here: "Anim8or Tutorial Book"

Author Topic: Any way to render images larger than 4096x4096?  (Read 2356 times)

mystman12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Any way to render images larger than 4096x4096?
« on: October 02, 2020, 04:35:30 pm »

Hello, I'm new here, but I've been using Anim8or for a while now!

I'm curious if there's any way to render an image at a resolution higher than 4096x4096? I'm interested in printing a large poster of one of my renders, and in order to get it at 300 ppi I need a way to render a significantly larger image. Anyone have any advice?
Logged

dob

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • "It's called Super Lounging Music!"
    • View Profile
    • Planet DOB Wiki
Re: Any way to render images larger than 4096x4096?
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2020, 03:43:16 pm »

Hello, Mystman12! I'm quite a fan of your work. It's great to see you here!

Anim8or has a limit of 4096x4096 pixels per picture with a default of 300x300 DPI. This topic discusses it a bit more in-depth: https://www.anim8or.com/smf/index.php?topic=5406.0

Steve has mentioned plans to increase the image render size limit in the future, though.   :)
Logged

davdud101

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1064
  • Couldn't ever use Blender or Maya. Anim8or's good.
    • View Profile
Re: Any way to render images larger than 4096x4096?
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2020, 08:46:57 am »

@mystman12 I wonder if you could get away with a similar look in the render by exporting your project into another rendering software? It's a bit roundabout with a little learning curve but you might be able to implement a few more fancy visual effects in the final image, and it would certainly be faster at rendering.
Logged
?

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2065
    • View Profile
Re: Any way to render images larger than 4096x4096?
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2020, 11:51:34 am »

Mystman12 I have a build that supports sizes up to 8K by 8K. Is that useful to you?

Anything larger that that starts to either use too much memory or fails in the converion when saving. The OpenGL rendering is also limited by your graphics card's max rendr buffer size.
Logged

mystman12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Any way to render images larger than 4096x4096?
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2020, 04:13:32 pm »

Mystman12 I have a build that supports sizes up to 8K by 8K. Is that useful to you?

Anything larger that that starts to either use too much memory or fails in the converion when saving. The OpenGL rendering is also limited by your graphics card's max rendr buffer size.

Yes Steve, that would be fantastic! If you could share that I would really appreciate it!
Logged

ENSONIQ5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1004
    • View Profile
    • Mission Backup Earth
Re: Any way to render images larger than 4096x4096?
« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2020, 02:27:09 am »

A tricky workaround might be to use four cameras co-located and 'splayed' horizontally and vertically, then stitch the images together externally ;)
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2065
    • View Profile
Re: Any way to render images larger than 4096x4096?
« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2020, 10:36:41 am »

I just uploaded build 1394 which increases the limits on rendering to 8K by 8K. Images larger that that can cause Anim8or to run out of memory.

Note: OpenGL rendering may be limited to smaller images, depending on the capabilities of the graphics on your computer.
« Last Edit: October 16, 2020, 10:37:04 am by Steve »
Logged

mystman12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Any way to render images larger than 4096x4096?
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2021, 08:53:03 pm »

Bumping this to say that the 8k build of Anim8or you provided worded perfectly, thanks again!

Edit: Actually, I just realized shadows don't seem to be working with the scanline renderer... Could there be a setting or something I'm missing? I have the lights set to cast shadows and the objects set to cast and receive shadows.

Edit edit: I switched the light to cast with raytracing and that seems to have fixed it!
« Last Edit: February 22, 2021, 09:19:04 pm by mystman12 »
Logged