Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Ian Ross has just released a book on Anim8or. It's perect for a beginner and a good reference for experienced users. It contains detailed chapters on every aspect, with many examples. Get your own copy here: "Anim8or Tutorial Book"

Author Topic: Bump Maps Don't Seem To Work  (Read 2504 times)

Old Codger

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Bump Maps Don't Seem To Work
« on: December 13, 2020, 11:12:59 am »

I am working on gaining proficiency with using textures. I would LIKE to be able to add to surface detail (and thus "realism") by use of bump map. The problem I am having is that they don't seem to do anything that I can see. I made the simple grid attached to use to figure out how to get bump maps to work. I would expect either the appearance of a grid of grooves between panels or a raised grid modifying whatever surface texture I am using for ambient and diffuse. Unfortunately nothing I do seems to work. I have figured out that when I add a material with textures to a face (or group of faces) I have to invoke the UV functionality and move the thing a tad then move it back. I also do any texturing work in the Object/Point edit mode with viewing set to Smooth/Shaded so I can see the results. Assuming a very basic ambient and diffuse texture, what do I need to do to see the activity of the bump map when I deselect the newly textured faces?


Logged

davdud101

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1064
  • Couldn't ever use Blender or Maya. Anim8or's good.
    • View Profile
Re: Bump Maps Don't Seem To Work
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2020, 12:55:00 pm »

Have you tried seeing whether its visible when rendered? If you go to View >>Preferences >> Use Shaders and try those two options, does it change anything?


I've actually had issues with the same thing in many of the latest releases of Anim8or. FIgured it was due to my own hardware incompatibilities, so I just view my bump maps through rendering now.
Logged
?

AlecJames

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 234
    • View Profile
Re: Bump Maps Don't Seem To Work
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2020, 01:03:22 pm »

I had GLSL (no bump map); changed to ARB and the bump map appears.



Logged

Old Codger

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Re: Bump Maps Don't Seem To Work
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2020, 04:23:00 pm »

Ah, Alec? I have absolutely no idea what you wrote. {shakes head ruefully}  ??? Auf English, bitte. Would those be user settings somewhere?
Logged

davdud101

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1064
  • Couldn't ever use Blender or Maya. Anim8or's good.
    • View Profile
Re: Bump Maps Don't Seem To Work
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2020, 08:50:26 pm »

Ah, Alec? I have absolutely no idea what you wrote. {shakes head ruefully}  ??? Auf English, bitte. Would those be user settings somewhere?

Those are the two options I mentioned


"View >>Preferences >> Use Shaders and try those two options, does it change anything?"
Logged
?

AlecJames

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 234
    • View Profile
Re: Bump Maps Don't Seem To Work
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2020, 07:41:10 am »

Sorry.  I had written an essay about it and was proof reading it when Davdud101 got in with the solution. My summarised one liner went to the other extreme. :)

« Last Edit: December 14, 2020, 07:42:47 am by AlecJames »
Logged

Old Codger

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Re: Bump Maps Don't Seem To Work
« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2020, 07:42:05 am »

Thanks all.
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2065
    • View Profile
Re: Bump Maps Don't Seem To Work
« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2020, 08:37:42 am »

AlecJames What graphics chip do you have? Bumpmaps should work for both GLSL and ARB shaders:
Logged

AlecJames

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 234
    • View Profile
Re: Bump Maps Don't Seem To Work
« Reply #8 on: December 14, 2020, 09:47:34 am »

Its Intel Graphics HD4600 but

its a Dell precision laptop (5 years old) so it has both the 4600 and an amd firepro m5100.  I recall when using OBS there is some power saving setting in windows 10 that forces OBS to use the other graphics card, I will look....

I just asked Google:  Settings -> Display -> Graphics settings; set Anim8or to use the fire pro:  It's the same; GLSL no bump map in the workspace, ARB works OK.

I never really understood the detail about this, I just learnt that if it renders but doesn't show in the workspace, change the setting :)
   
Logged

exile

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
Re: Bump Maps Don't Seem To Work
« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2021, 03:40:26 pm »

Its Intel Graphics HD4600 but

its a Dell precision laptop (5 years old) so it has both the 4600 and an amd firepro m5100.  I recall when using OBS there is some power saving setting in windows 10 that forces OBS to use the other graphics card, I will look....

I just asked Google:  Settings -> Display -> Graphics settings; set Anim8or to use the fire pro:  It's the same; GLSL no bump map in the workspace, ARB works OK.

I never really understood the detail about this, I just learnt that if it renders but doesn't show in the workspace, change the setting :)
 

I'm glad I found this. I couldn't get bump map to work on my old Elitebook 2760p laptop (also Intel graphic chip). For me it was the opposite - for some reason ARB was installed, no bump map. After switching to GLSL, the bump map appeared. The search function in the forum is a big help. Edit: It disappeared again, and was reactivated with ARB. And the render was better. I'll never understand this, but am happy that it somehow works.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2021, 04:36:28 pm by exile »
Logged