Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Ian Ross has just released a book on Anim8or. It's perect for a beginner and a good reference for experienced users. It contains detailed chapters on every aspect, with many examples. Get your own copy here: "Anim8or Tutorial Book"

Author Topic: export problems with GODOT  (Read 674 times)

jbskaggs

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
export problems with GODOT
« on: November 29, 2021, 05:44:10 pm »

Problem:  Model scale

I have this same problem with Tinkercad,  and Anim8or but not sketchup.   1 unit =250 units in Godot approximately.  in Sketchup a 12" model imports as a 12" model. But in Tinkercad a 1/8" model imports at over 100 meters.  Anim8or exports at 1 unit = 200 to 250units=  basically maximum size.


How can I setup Anim8or's scale to reduce export file size easily? 

I am hopeful Anim80r wil be able to export to gltf soon, but even then I will need to understand  scale better.

 


Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2054
    • View Profile
Re: export problems with GODOT
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2021, 05:31:20 pm »

How are you exporting Anim8or models? I don't understand the comment 1 unit = 200 units.
Logged

jbskaggs

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
Re: export problems with GODOT
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2021, 06:02:07 pm »

Lets say I have a 3d model that is 1,1,1 or approx 1 meter cube.   In Godot it imports at 250, 250, 250 or 250 meters cubed and is larger than my entire level.

So how do I adjust the scale of the units?

Ill try and make a cube import it and get some screen shots
Logged

jbskaggs

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
Re: export problems with GODOT
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2021, 07:03:50 pm »

here is a screenshot in Godot.  The Rabbit is from Anim8or OBJ export converted to GLTF (glb)

It is standing over a 1 unit tall cube.  I hope this helps clarify.
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2054
    • View Profile
Re: export problems with GODOT
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2021, 12:17:55 pm »

What I want to know is what steps do you take to export a model from Anim8or and import it into Godot? Do you use the .obj exporter in Anim8or? .3ds?
Logged

jbskaggs

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
Re: export problems with GODOT
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2021, 01:15:57 am »

yes I use the .obj exporter in anim8or, then I import it to blender and convert to gltf and then import to Godot.
« Last Edit: December 03, 2021, 01:16:46 am by jbskaggs »
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2054
    • View Profile
Re: export problems with GODOT
« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2021, 04:32:19 pm »

I don't know what is happening. Anim8or exports units unchanged to .obj format. If your original model is a 1x1x1 cube then the .obj format will be that size.
Logged