Anim8or Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

An update to Anim8or, v1.00b, is available with a few bug fixes. Get your copy HERE. See the "ReadMe" file for details.

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4

Author Topic: Sound in Anim8or  (Read 3928 times)

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 936
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #30 on: May 10, 2020, 02:40:16 am »

Hi steve.
 I do understand that you need to be carefull not to go opening any cans of worms.  Heck, entire 'hefty' programs are written solely for dealing with sounds, and would just hate to see you getting lost down THAT rabbit hole.
  Annotation and phoneme tracks sound like a good way to go, so i dare not risk steering you away from that path, which sounds like quite a job ahead already.

Quote
you can do fairly decent lip-sync with 8 to 12 shapes
.
 Absolutely agree. (or even less, in Anim8or)
 One thing i've found with lip-sync in Anim8or is that using the graph editor to vary the strength of the mouth shape can add a huge amount of options and realism. ie: open mouth can be wide open or slightly open, or a wide smile can also be a little smile. 
 Same phenome shapes, but different results depending on strength of morph.
 Another example with an open mouth phenome. If dragged into the negative value, (graph editor), it can also be used as a closed mouth shape.
 Will phenomes still be editable when the phenome shape is added to the timeline?
 I'm guessing/hoping 'yes'?, because i'm assuming once the mouth shape is added to the timeline it will be entered as a key, and therefore 'editable?

 (geeez, hope i'm not treading on 'can of worms' territory here, just after i said thats the last thing i'd want you to do. lol)  ;)
Logged
%

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1901
    • View Profile
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #31 on: May 10, 2020, 03:41:29 pm »

Phoneme morphs are just normal morph targets and are editable. The idea of the phoneme track is so you can put all the speech for a character in one, easy to edit row that's next to the sound images, instead of requiring many rows off somewhere in the general track window.

(FWIW "phenome" is a term used in biology to describe variations in a species, "phoneme" is a unit of sound in speech   )
Logged

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 936
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #32 on: May 10, 2020, 09:23:59 pm »

Thanks for your reply steve. cheers.

Quote
"phenome" is a term used in biology to describe variations in a species

 Lol. Here i am, describing computerized mouth shapes as something biological.

 (Hey, maybe i'm just ahead of my time. After all, i'm sure there are biological computers in some sci-fi movies i've seen)

 But honestly, it makes sense now.
 
 'Phon' as used in 'phonograph' and 'phonics' Both sound related, so it's now quite plain to see that 'phoneme' also relates to sound.

   thanks for clearing that up.
Must be  time for a cuppa tea.
Logged
%

Gyperboloid

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 266
  • It's better not to do anything, than to do nothing
    • View Profile
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #33 on: May 11, 2020, 10:27:35 am »

Phono - from greek "φωνή " [ f o 'n i ] = voice.  Phenome ( aka phenotype - φαινότυπος ) - from greek φαίνεσθαι [ 'f e n e s th e ] = looks like. :)

Bonus  :) : Tele - from greek "τήλε" [ 't i l e ] = from a distance.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2020, 10:33:44 am by Gyperboloid »
Logged

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 936
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #34 on: May 20, 2020, 09:54:04 pm »

Quote
I understand how a second sound track could be useful. The reason I'm reluctant to add one is thads, nothing fancy.t it opens up a whole can of worms with mixing, fading, etc. I could add a second track and simply add the sound

 Hi steve.
 Can't stop thinking about this.
 If you did add a 'basic' 2nd track, even rendered out in mono, the extra creativity at the user end would, imho,  more than double the scope of any Anim8or film project which uses only one sound track.

that was a mouthfull

 back me up, someone.

 If you do decide to add this steve, the 2nd track could be hidden, by default, and accessed through options -> ?
 
Couple of thoughts while i'm at it, which may be bordering on getting that can-opener a bit close to the can, but not actually opening it

-When using 2 soundtracks, its sometimes handy to be able to 'mute' 1 or both tracks, usually done with a button on the track 'header(?)'.

 and.....i see that sound plays when selecting just a section of the timeframes, thats really cool, and so handy when trying to sync to a waveform thats lacking some obvious peaks.
 Another very handy piece of kit, related, is if the sound plays frame by frame. (using fwd and bck arrow keys) Very good when trying to locate exactly when that 'phoneme' shape lands, or, 'sounds'.

 Some food for thought anyway,steve.
 I do think a 2nd 'basic' soundtrack would be a really good idea.
Logged
%

captaindrewi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 478
  • errm...errr?
    • View Profile
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #35 on: May 21, 2020, 08:00:32 am »

The primary need for a sound track in Anim8or for me is for accurate lip syncing. I can easily add additional sound tracks in post edit software such as Hitfilm Express which is free.
So i'd rather Steve conclude his original plans for the audio track before attempting the addition of a second track which he has explained could be a trickier endeavour.
Though having said that and giving it more thought, obviously technical wise, two would be better than one and three well that would be just greedy. :)
« Last Edit: May 21, 2020, 10:57:08 am by captaindrewi »
Logged
!

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1901
    • View Profile
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #36 on: May 21, 2020, 11:41:55 am »

Good ideas all! Stay tuned, there's more to come!
Logged

captaindrewi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 478
  • errm...errr?
    • View Profile
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #37 on: May 21, 2020, 12:05:09 pm »



Goodo Steve and Jonah. :)

I had been working on a number of 2d scenes and characters for some time, Knowing that one day AUDIO would come.
 8)

ps That's not my real voice I'm in character. :-\
« Last Edit: May 21, 2020, 12:07:22 pm by captaindrewi »
Logged
!

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1901
    • View Profile
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #38 on: May 21, 2020, 01:04:55 pm »

:)
Logged

johnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 936
  • Make it, Move it--Give it Life
    • View Profile
    • youtube vids
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #39 on: May 23, 2020, 02:13:44 am »

captaindrewi
 Nice short clip. Tho i could barely hear it here, but thats more to do with the laptop i'm using, i think.

 I agree with what you said, about first things first and all. Totally.
 I understand extra sound can be added in post production, and theres decent freeware out there available to do that. Was just keeping in mind that a video clip, with sound, can now be produced totally in Anim8or, with no post production required. Thats pretty cool in itself.
 A second track would just make that even better. (imho)
 But yes, i wouldn't want it to get in the way of plans steve already has.
 
steve
Quote
Stay tuned, there's more to come!
Man i love it when you say that!
Logged
%

Kevin Gales

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #40 on: May 23, 2020, 05:52:24 am »

I tried the sound feature on build 1380 I am getting a straight line..the sound plays but I can't scrub
Is it me or??
Logged

thecolclough

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 866
  • 3D Ignoramus 1988-2002, Anim8or User 2002-present.
    • View Profile
    • www.mattghc.com
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #41 on: May 23, 2020, 07:25:38 am »

for those agitating for multiple tracks... you could pre-compile your audio into one .wav file, using Audacity for example.  that way you could have as many different overlapping sounds as you want without needing multiple tracks within Anim8or.
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1901
    • View Profile
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #42 on: May 23, 2020, 10:39:09 am »

Kevin Gales: Are you using a .WAV file or a .MP3 file? Anim8or can play both but can only show the waveform for .WAV files.
Logged

Kevin Gales

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #43 on: May 23, 2020, 01:00:17 pm »

Kevin Gales: Are you using a .WAV file or a .MP3 file? Anim8or can play both but can only show the waveform for .WAV files.
I found the problem...when I used a raw wav file the waveform appears.. but when I converted mp3 to wav it was just straight...I guess maybe it's something that has to do with the codecs...


So you haven't implemented scrubbing yet..right?or am I missing something?
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1901
    • View Profile
Re: Sound in Anim8or
« Reply #44 on: May 23, 2020, 05:35:20 pm »

Sound doesn't play when scrubbing. I'm not sure how to do that. I can only play sound at a fixed rate, and not in reverse. I also don't know how it should work.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4